DECISION Request No.: 08

Protest

Event: Ilca Youth Easter Meeting Race Number: 7

Hearing Schedule: 2024-03-30 14:10

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 08: ILCA 6 - u17M - ITA 222306 - Alessandro Cirinei

ILCA 6 - u19M - ITA 224932 - Dario Burlando

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed Red Flag Displayed: Not required

Decision: Request Valid

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

ITA 222306 did not withdraw the protest after the arbitration meeting and neither boat accepted a Post-Race Penalty under RRS T1(a).

FACTS FOUND

- 1. The wind was about 15 knots and choppy waves.
- 2. Both boats were approaching the windward mark.
- 3. ITA 222306 was fetching the mark on starboard tack and ITA 224932 was on port.
- 4. ITA 224932 tacked on to starboard and finished her tack 0.5 boat length from the mark and approx. 1 meter clear ahead of ITA 222306.
- 5. Soon after ITA 222306 finished her tack (1-2 seconds), ITA 222306 which was holding her course established an overlap to the windward of ITA 224932 with a distance of approximately 30 cm between them.
- 6. ITA 222306 luffed, but not above close-hauled course.
- 7. There was no contact between the boats.
- 8. ITA 224932 touched the mark.
- 9. ITA 224932 took a one-turn penalty.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: RRS 18.3, 31, 44, 64.2(a)

- After ITA 224932 passed head to wind from port to starboard tack inside the zone and was then fetching the mark, she did not caused ITA 222306 on starboard tack since entering the zone, to sail above closehauled to avoid contact. ITA 224932 did not break RRS 18.3.
- 2. ITA 224932 touched the mark and broke RRS 31.
- 3. Since RRS 44.1(b) did not apply, ITA 224932 took an applicable penalty by taking a One-Turn Penalty.

Date & Time: 2024-03-30 15:02 CET

The Protest is Dismissed. Since ITA 224932 took the applicable penalty she is not further penalized under 64.2(a).

PROTEST COMMITTEE

Committee Type Protest Committee Chaired By: Giorgio Bolla (ITA)

Committee Members: Václav Brabec (CZE), Jean-Luc Michon (FRA), Enrico Milano (ITA)