Protest

Event: 18th Langkawi International Regatta Perdana 2022 Race Number: 12

Hearing Schedule: 2022-02-13 14:30

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 04: OPTIMIST - A - MAS MAS9224 - MUHAMMAD ZIKRY BIN ZAKARIA

Optimist - A - MAS 210 - MUHAMMAD ADAM AIERELL - Muhammad adam Aierell

Witnesses: MAS 1143, MAS 211

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: N/A

Decision: Request Valid

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

The Protest Committee is not an International Jury in accordance with Appendix N as described in the SI

FACTS FOUND

- 1. In race 12, the wind was 7knots and the sea choppy.
- 2. While running towards mark 3, MAS 9224 and MAS 210 were both on port tack within one boat length of each other with MAS9224 slightly behind and to the right of MAS210.
- 3. MAS 9224 gybed to starboard and sailed behind the transom of MAS 210 towards the port side of MAS 210.
- 4. MAS 210 also gybed to starboard and became windward of MAS9224.
- 5. MAS 9224 immediately luffed up towards MAS 210.
- 6. Contact took place between the bow of MAS9224 and the port rear quarter of MAS 210.
- 7. There was no damage or serious injury after the collision.
- 8. Both boats did not do any penalty turns.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: 11, 16.1, 14, 43.1(a)

- 1. When changing course MAS 9224, the right-of-way boat, failed to give MAS 210 room to keep clear, and broke RRS
- 2. MAS 9224, the right-of-way boat did not act to avoid contact with MAS 210 when it was reasonably possible. MAS 9224 broke RRS 14.
- 3. MAS 210 to windward was unable to keep clear of MAS 9224 to leeward, and broke RRS 11&14.
- 4. Since MAS210 was compelled to break RRS 11 & 14 as a consequence of MAS9224 breaking RRS 16.1 &14, she is exonerated under RRS 43.1(a) for this breach.

DECISION

MAS 9224 is DSQ in Race 12.

PROTEST COMMITTEE

Chaired By: Nur Amirah Hamid (MAS)

Committee Members: Leonard S Chin (MAS), Chin In (MAS), Nurul Ain Md Isa (MAS), Salehhodin Hamzah (MAS), Putri Nor Andryana (MAS)

Printed: 2022-02-13 20:22

Date & Time: 2022-02-13 15:30 +08