DECISION Request No.: 13

Protest

Event: YAI 36th Hyderabad Sailing Week Race Number: 8

Hearing Schedule: 2022-07-07

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 13: ILCA 4 - OPEN - IND IND 211784 - 211784 - SACHIN BETHAMELLA

ILCA 4 - OPEN - IND 208192 - 202231 - NITHIN NAYAK K

Witnesses: IND 211786 (for IND 211784)

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: N/A

Decision: Request Valid

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

1. Ashwin Singh and Vikrant Boorugu (OA Representatives) attended the hearing as observers.

2. IND 211784 informed the race committee of her intention to protest IND 208192 at the finishing line immediately after finishing, as required by SI 17.1

FACTS FOUND

- 1. The wind speed was around 9 knots and the water was calm.
- 2. IND 211784 and IND 211786 were sailing on a run towards the Mark 2P, both on starboard tack.
- 3. When IND 211784 reached the zone, she was overlapped on the outside and to windward of IND 211786.
- 3. At that time, IND 208192 was clear astern of IND 211784 and IND 211786.
- 4. When IND 211784 rounded the mark, the distance between her and the mark was two boat lengths.
- 5. IND 211786 rounded inside IND 211784, with less than one and half boat lengths distance from the mark.
- 6. IND 208192 rounded the mark in the gap between the mark and IND 211786.
- 7. There was no contact between any boat or between IND 208192 and the mark.
- 8. No boat took a penalty.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: 18.2(b)

- 1. IND 211784 outside overlapped at the zone, gave IND 211786 mark-room, and complied with RRS 18.2(b).
- 2. IND 208192 clear astern at the time IND 211786 and IND 211784 reached the zone gave mark room to IND 211786 and IND 211784 and complied with RRS 18.2(b).
- 3. No rule was broken.

DECISION

The protest is dismissed

Date & Time: 2022-07-07 19:45 IST

PROTEST COMMITTEE

Chaired By: Tribhuwan Jaiswal (IND)

Committee Members: Gurvinderpal Julka (IND), Abhimanyu Patankar (IND), Soma Pillai (IND)

Printed: 2022-07-08 15:06