# DECISION

#### Protest and Request for Redress

Event: 2022 Formula Kite Youth (U21) and A's Youth Foil World Championships Race Number: 5 Hearing Schedule: 2022-05-21

# PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 28: FORMULA KITE MEN - ITA 65 - Flavio Marx

FORMULA KITE MEN - ESP 36 - Sebastian Ducos

#### VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: Not required

Decision: Request Valid

## PROCEDURAL MATTERS

#### FACTS FOUND

- 1. First upwind leg.
- 2. ITA 65 was sailing on starboard tack and ESP 36 was sailing on port tack, kiteboards were on a collision course.
- 3. ESP 36 put the kite up, lost balance and fell into the water.
- 4. ITA 65 put the kite up.
- 5. Immediately after, there was contact between lines and kites of ITA 65 and ESP 36.
- 6. The damage to ITA 65 were cut frontlines and one broken bridle.
- 7. ITA 65 and ESP 36 did not finish race F5.
- 8. ITA 65 got back ashore and did not have enough time to change equipment before the start of race F6
- 9. ITA 65 did not start in race F6.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

## CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: RRS 10, 14, 62.1(b)

- 1. ESP 36 on port did not keep clear of ITA 65 on starboard tack breaking rules 10 and 14.
- 2. It was not reasonably possible for ITA 65 to avoid the contact, therefore she did not break rule 14.
- 3. The score of ITA 65 was made significantly worse in race F5, F6 through no fault of her own by damage caused by the action of a kiteboard that was breaking a rule of part 2 and took an appropriate penalty.
- 4. By retiring, ESP 36 took the appropriate penalty for her breach.

## DECISION

ESP 36 retired. No further penalty imposed.

ITA 65 is given redress in races F5, F6 and will be scored points equal to the average of her scores in the races F1, F2, F3, F4, F7, F8 rounded to the nearest tenth of a point (0.05 to be rounded upward). This shall not change the score of the other kiteboards.

PROTEST COMMITTEE Chaired By: Jan Stage (DEN)

Committee Members: Pauline Den Burger (NED), Anastazja Lewandowska (POL), Maurizio Iovino (ITA), Bruno Ampola (ITA)

Date & Time: 2022-05-21 17:23 CEST