DECISION Request No.: 14

### **Protest**

Event: YAI 36th Hyderabad Sailing Week Race Number: 7

Hearing Schedule: 2022-07-07

### **PARTIES AND WITNESSES**

Request No.: 14: ILCA 4 - OPEN - IND IND207335 - 208920 - SABAVATH VIJAY KUMAR

ILCA 4 - OPEN - IND IND195372 - 209822 - RATLAVATH CHINTU NAYAK

Witnesses: IND 210431 (for IND 207335)

### **VALIDITY**

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: N/A

**Decision:** Request Valid

#### **PROCEDURAL MATTERS**

1. Ashwin Singh and Vikrant Boorugu (OA Representatives) attended the hearing as observers.

2. IND 207335 informed the race committee of her intention to protest IND 195372 at the finishing line immediately after finishing, as required by SI 17.1

#### **FACTS FOUND**

- 1. ILCA 4's were racing in race No 7, in 8 knots wind and calm waters.
- 2. IND 207335 and IND195372 were sailing on a run on the first downwind leg, both on starboard tack.
- 3. IND 207335 established an overlap to leeward of IND 195372. The distance between the boats at that time was four boat lengths.
- 4. IND 207335 gradually luffed up while IND 195372 held her course.
- 5. There was contact between the starboard bow of IND 207335, and port beam of IND 195372.
- 6. Neither boat took a penalty.
- 7. There was no damage or injury.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

# **CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY**

Rules: 11, 14, 43.1(c)

- 1. IND 195372 to windward failed to keep clear of IND 207335 to leeward, and broke RRS 11.
- 2. IND 195372 failed to avoid contact, when reasonably possible, and broke RRS 14.
- 3. IND 207335 the right-of-way boat did not act to avoid contact with IND 195372 when it was reasonably possible. IND 207335 broke RRS 14.
- 4. Since IND 207335 was the right-of way boat and the contact did not cause damage or injury, she is exonerated under RRS 43.1(c) for breaking RRS 14.

## **DECISION**

IND 195372 is DSQ in race No 7

Date & Time: 2022-07-08 20:25 IST

# PROTEST COMMITTEE

Chaired By: Tribhuwan Jaiswal (IND)

Committee Members: Gurvinderpal Julka (IND), Abhimanyu Patankar (IND), Soma Pillai (IND)