DECISION Request No.: 05

Protest

Event: ORA CUP ORA 2021 Race Number: F2 Silver

Hearing Schedule: 2021-08-08

PARTIES AND WITNESSES

Request No.: 05: Optimist - Junior - BEL 1214 - Cédric D'hondt

Optimist - Junior - GER 1660 - Winner Team - AMELIE ROPKE

VALIDITY

Objection to Jury: No

Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit

Incident Identified: Yes

Proper Hail: Protest hailed

Red Flag Displayed: Not required

Decision: Request Valid

PROCEDURAL MATTERS

PIETER VAN DEN BOSSCHE coach of BEL 1214 attended the hearing as an observer. RIKY STADEL coach of GER 1160 attended the hearing as translator for GER 1160.

The Protestor presented a picture of the damage on his boat.

FACTS FOUND

- 1. The incident occured 40s. before the starting signal of race 6.
- 2. Choppy lake, 12 knots of wind.
- 3. GER was stationary head to wind on starboard tack 2 hull lenghts to leeward of the starting line.
- BEL was sailing slowly below the close-hauled course towards the starting line on starboard tack clear astern of GER.
- 5. BEL became overlapped to windward and 0.3m apart of GER.
- 6. BEL luffed head to wind.
- 7. A collision occured between the amidships port side of BEL and the starboard aft quarter of GER.
- 8. Damage: about 10cm. of the fiberglass cover is missing on the gunwale of the starboard aft quarter of GER.
- 9. After the collision, GER applied the force of her hand and got clear of BEL.
- 10. No boat took a penalty turn.

Diagram: Diagram not endorsed

CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY

Rules: RRS 11, RRS 14, RRS 42.3(h)

- 1. BEL to windward failed to keep clear of GER to leeward, and broke RRS 11.
- 2. BEL did not avoid contact when it was reasonably possible, and broke RRS 14.
- 3. It was not reasonably possible for GER, the right-of-way boat to avoid contact with BEL when it was clear that BEL was not keeping clear. GER did not break RRS 14.
- 4. By appling the force of her crew after the collision to get clear under RRS 42.3(h), GER did not break RRS 42.

DECISION

BEL 1214 is DSQ in race 6 (F2).

Date & Time: 2021-08-08 17:58 CEST

Chaired By: Enrico Pilla (ITA)
Committee Members: Giorgio Bolla (ITA), Fausto Manenti (ITA)

Printed: 2021-08-27 14:07