Thursday Midweek Racing - Summer
Series

’ Scoring Inquiry

Race Date: 2024-07-12 Received: 2024-07-12 08:39 EDT

Request No.: 01

Course: Thursday nigth July 11,2024

Race No.: 1

Posted Score: DNC

Competitor: Shark - White Sail - 938 - Phoenix - Brian Gray

Scoring Inquiry:
I just found out I was scored DNC allegedly because I did not round the leeward mark. It
is true I stupidly missed this mark (for reasons that are irrelevant) but I turned and sailed
close hauled on starboard tack to a position above the mark where I would have been
had I come straight from the jibe mark to this mark and then rounded it to port as
required. Perhaps the race committee thought that I was a spinnaker Shark and was
coming direct down wind. I was coming from the jibe mark on a reach and therefore I
"rounded" the mark exactly as I would have coming from that direction. It was more like
an "L" than a "U" but I repeated the rounding I would have make. Does the mark
rounding in this situation require one to go 360 degrees around the mark? I had not
touched the mark. If that is the case, can you tell me what rule requires me to go
completely around the mark?
Thanks

Response:
This was a request for redress and a hearing was requested.

Response By Andrew van Nostrand Printed at 2025-04-21
04:20
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