It strikes me that in most NoR/SI's rule 44.3 - taking a scoring penalty - is often not used by sailors. We all know the One/Two Turn penalty, but in a lot of cases with minor fauls, or dubious fauls/protests one may choose in a regatta to avoid the risk of DSQ or substantial loss of position by taking a scoring penalty. By rule, if not stated otherwise in the NoR/SI it is 20% of points of the number of boats + 1 ( hence with 19 boats it = +4 points on your finishing points). Rule 44.3 is invalid in case of injury and/or serious damage by rule 44.1-b - a boat must retire in that case.
Any comments why rule 44.3 is not used by many racers ?
44.3 Scoring Penalty
(a) A boat takes a Scoring Penalty by displaying a yellow flag at the first reasonable
opportunity after the incident.
(b) When a boat has taken a Scoring Penalty, she shall keep the yellow flag
displayed until finishing and call the race committee’s attention to it at the
finishing line. At that time she shall also inform the race committee of the
identity of the other boat involved in the incident. If this is impracticable,
she shall do so at the first reasonable opportunity and within the protest
(c) The race score for a boat that takes a Scoring Penalty shall be the score she
would have received without that penalty, made worse by the number
of places stated in the notice of race or sailing instructions. When the
number of places is not stated, the penalty shall be 20% of the score for Did
Not Finish, rounded to the nearest whole number (0.5 rounded upward).
The scores of other boats shall not be changed; therefore, two boats may
receive the same score. However, the penalty shall not cause the boat’s
score to be worse than the score for Did Not Finish.