Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
After the starting signal I touched the starting pin. I have not cler what is the penalty? Have I to restart passing outside the pin, or can I do a 360 as soon as possible without turning back to the pre-start area? Giuliano Tarditi - Dart 18
RRS 31 & 44.1 are the rules you need to look at: The "starting pin" is a mark of the course that (from RRS 31) "begins... the leg of the course on which she is sailing"
And from RRS 44.1, "She may take a One-Turn Penalty when she may have broken rule 31."
Can you just show us some rules, references and argument that supports your assertion?
It seems to be inconsistent with the definitions of
Racing A boat is racing from her preparatory signal until she finishes and clears the finishing line and marks or retires, or until the race committee signals a general recall, postponement or abandonment.
and
Start A boat starts when, her hull having been entirely on the pre-start side of the starting line at or after her starting signal, and having complied with rule 30.1 if it applies, any part of her hull crosses the starting line from the pre-start side to the course side.
A boat can touch a starting mark and cross the starting line (Yellow), or touch a starting mark on the wrong side and not cross the starting line (Blue). See the two diagrams below.
Yellow's hull crosses the starting line from the pre-start side to the course side and touched the starting mark. Yellow took an applicable penalty for her breach of rule 31 by taking a One-Turn Penalty. She should be scored in her finishing position.
Blue's hull passed the wrong side of the starting mark and touched the starting mark. Blue took an applicable penalty for her breach of rule 31 by taking a One-Turn Penalty. Blue needs to start by crossing the starting line. If Blue does not cross the starting line from the pre-start side to the course side she should be scored Did Not Start (DNS).
You might find it useful to read Case 28 and Case 108.
Did you touch the course side of the starting pin? Nothing else is within the racing area.
I'm not sure why you think whether or not it's in the racing area is relevant, but we had quite an extensive discussion about the meaning of 'racing area' in this thread
The "starting pin" is a mark of the course that (from RRS 31) "begins... the leg of the course on which she is sailing"
And from RRS 44.1, "She may take a One-Turn Penalty when she may have broken rule 31."
my doubt has been perfectly cleared.
Nothing else is within the racing area.
Can you just show us some rules, references and argument that supports your assertion?
It seems to be inconsistent with the definitions of
Racing A boat is racing from her preparatory signal until she finishes
and clears the finishing line and marks or retires, or until the race
committee signals a general recall, postponement or abandonment.
and
Start A boat starts when, her hull having been entirely on the pre-start
side of the starting line at or after her starting signal, and having
complied with rule 30.1 if it applies, any part of her hull crosses the
starting line from the pre-start side to the course side.
Did you touch the course side of the starting pin?
Answer: YES, I crossed the starting line with the bow, but I was too much close hauled and slowly I touched the pin at half of the hull.
Yellow's hull crosses the starting line from the pre-start side to the course side and touched the starting mark. Yellow took an applicable penalty for her breach of rule 31 by taking a One-Turn Penalty. She should be scored in her finishing position.
Blue's hull passed the wrong side of the starting mark and touched the starting mark. Blue took an applicable penalty for her breach of rule 31 by taking a One-Turn Penalty. Blue needs to start by crossing the starting line. If Blue does not cross the starting line from the pre-start side to the course side she should be scored Did Not Start (DNS).
You might find it useful to read Case 28 and Case 108.
I'm not sure why you think whether or not it's in the racing area is relevant, but we had quite an extensive discussion about the meaning of 'racing area' in this thread
At a regatta with multiple course areas boats having finished racing on one course cross another course.