Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
I'm confused... is Red on starboard, as shown here, or (since the writing is backwards) is Red on port?
If Red is on starboard, then Blue needs to give Green room to duck Red, assuming Blue decides to duck, as opposed to tack (Rule 19.2.a-b).
Assuming that's Red's on starboard, the next question is, Did Green have enough room? From your diagram, it looks like Green had about 1/6 a boatlength of gauge between themselves and Blue. To make that concrete, that's about 2.5 feet in a 14 foot Laser, and 4 feet in a J/24. That's a marginal amount of space for those two kinds of boats.
In light air and flat water, Green could have probably gotten closer to Blue to avoid contact with Red; in this case, if on a protest committee, I'd penalize Green (Rule 10). In puffy and/or windy conditions, Green would need more gauge to safely pass to leeward of Red without hitting Blue, especially if they're pumping their main aggressively to depower; in that case, penalize Blue (Rule 19).
In other kinds of boats, e.g., full keel boats that don't turn quickly, 1/6 of a boatlength is probably not enough room.
A question for the rules experts here: suppose Blue is vigilantly giving Green enough gauge to avoid contact between Blue and Green, but Green misjudges the duck, and due to Green's own bad driving, hits Red. Green can blame (and protest) Blue, even though the root cause Green negligence? Seems like Green gets a "get out of jail free" card here. What can Blue do here to strengthen their case? Can they hail to effect of, "Tell if me you need more room?" (Yes, I know a hail isn't required in a duck under 19.2.b; this is about proactively establishing facts if the situation goes into the protest room.)
Red did not protest as blue and green are protesting eachother and no damage done. Either green wins that and then he is mitigated or blue wins it and green is penalised anyway. Green has borne down without asking for water so as an aside to the question I would say that Green is in the wrong and will lose the protest.
Green is neither entitled nor required by any rule to "ask for water." Blue is required to provide room for Green to pass on the same side of Red that Blue does. Red would be a fool not to hail "Protest" following a collision. And she is "expected to enforce" RRS 14..
I have questions about the types of boats and conditions, but we might assume from the lack of damage that they are either smaller boats and/or that conditions are light.
Red on starboard
Blue and Green on port with Blue leeward
Blue chooses to pass Red to port
Blue bears away to give room to Green to do the same
Simultaneously, Green bears away to pass Red to port
Green makes contact w Red at position 4
There is a half boat-width of space between Blue and Green at position 4
No damage
Red held her course and speed
Blue and Green each hailed protest
Conclusions:
Red is ROW over Blue and Green (starboard)
Red is sailing away from the contact at the time of the incident (trying to avoid it)
Blue is ROW over Green (leeward)
Blue was outside boat at the obstruction
Blue is required to give room by RRS 19.2b
(note that no hail is required by rule 19)
Blue gave significant room to Green
In the conditions 1/2 boat-width of space was (or was not - see assumption) enough additional room for Green to safely pass behind red
Consequences
DSQ Green for breaking Rules 10 & 14
alternately, if 1/2 boat-width is not enough space, then exonerate Green for rule 10 and 14 via RRS 43 and DSQ Blue for breaking rule 19.2.
Red did not break rule 14, as it was not reasonably possible for her to avoid contact
Catalan, it all comes down to whether there is enough space in the given conditions for the boats involved. It's certainly close, but it might still be enough room, depending on the types of boats and the conditions.
If Red is on starboard, then Blue needs to give Green room to duck Red, assuming Blue decides to duck, as opposed to tack (Rule 19.2.a-b).
Assuming that's Red's on starboard, the next question is, Did Green have enough room? From your diagram, it looks like Green had about 1/6 a boatlength of gauge between themselves and Blue. To make that concrete, that's about 2.5 feet in a 14 foot Laser, and 4 feet in a J/24. That's a marginal amount of space for those two kinds of boats.
In light air and flat water, Green could have probably gotten closer to Blue to avoid contact with Red; in this case, if on a protest committee, I'd penalize Green (Rule 10). In puffy and/or windy conditions, Green would need more gauge to safely pass to leeward of Red without hitting Blue, especially if they're pumping their main aggressively to depower; in that case, penalize Blue (Rule 19).
In other kinds of boats, e.g., full keel boats that don't turn quickly, 1/6 of a boatlength is probably not enough room.
A question for the rules experts here: suppose Blue is vigilantly giving Green enough gauge to avoid contact between Blue and Green, but Green misjudges the duck, and due to Green's own bad driving, hits Red. Green can blame (and protest) Blue, even though the root cause Green negligence? Seems like Green gets a "get out of jail free" card here. What can Blue do here to strengthen their case? Can they hail to effect of, "Tell if me you need more room?" (Yes, I know a hail isn't required in a duck under 19.2.b; this is about proactively establishing facts if the situation goes into the protest room.)
Blue is required to provide room for Green to pass on the same side of Red that Blue does.
Red would be a fool not to hail "Protest" following a collision. And she is "expected to enforce" RRS 14..
Conclusions:
May I suggest you review the conclusions you have written, and rewrite them, by following the link to WS Preferred Standard Wording 2021-2024.
Then, go back and edit your Facts Found to delete irrelevant facts.
You could post your new decision here for us to have a look at.
Did your students fail if they didn't immediately refer to Case 11?