Forum: Rule 18 and Room at the Mark

Leeward mark on opposite tacks

António Negreiros Fernandes
Nationality: Portugal
image.png 157 KB

Is there any circumstance where the yellow boat is not required to give mark-room? i.e., the yellow is not obliged to give mark-room?
Created: 25-Sep-03 01:59

Comments

Format:
P
Michael Butterfield
I cannot think of one 
Created: 25-Sep-03 06:57
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
In the absence  of other boats or obstructions not shown in the diagram, don't think so.

Antonio, did you have some other scenario in mind?
Created: 25-Sep-03 06:57
António Negreiros Fernandes
Nationality: Portugal
Reply to: 18599 - John Allan
John, I didn't see one, so I was wondering if I might have missed a remote case.
Thanks to all.
Created: 25-Sep-03 07:54
Gijs Vlas
I also see no scenario - but from a tactical perspective if I were on Yellow then I would bear away at 2 since Blue still has to drop her spinnaker and make a short rounding and tail behind Blue that will most likely leave room between her and the mark, or come out on a lower course upwind.
Created: 25-Sep-03 08:04
Tim O'Connor
Reply to: 18601 - Gijs Vlas
Gijs - or, looking at the speed blue is going to cover that much more ground between 2 and 3: at 3, dump the jib to slow and luff behind blue, then dump an armful of mainsheet and whip in the jib to dive back down past their stern. A quick s-turn there to get blue clear to leeward of you while they still have their spinnaker up and having to drop and gybe a boat length from the mark, they are not going to be able to shut the door. You’ll pop through tight to the mark and a boat length to windward. 
Created: 25-Sep-03 08:15
Gijs Vlas
@Tim - risky move .... at 3 there is hardly room and risk of colloding is hughe - It is not clear how quick these boats manoeuvre ..... Luffing at 2 a better option I guess
Created: 25-Sep-03 10:33
Tim O'Connor
Reply to: 18603 - Gijs Vlas
Granted, but, you know: you can take the sailor out of the Lasers, but...
Created: 25-Sep-03 18:35
Carlo Camassa
I tuoni that we should  put focus on who entered in the area first. Yellow at position 1 entered in the area. She should have the right of room at mark. 
Created: 25-Sep-03 10:56
Gijs Vlas
Yellow and Blue are overlapped all the way to China ..... when yellow is entering the zone...

Created: 25-Sep-03 11:12
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 18604 - Carlo Camassa
Yellow at position 1 entered in the area. She should have the right of room at mark. 
Carlo re: "Yellow at position 1 entered in the area. She should have the right of room at mark. "

The above quoted statement is not correct based upon the new 18.2(a)(2).  18.2(a)(2) ONLY provides mark-room to the first boat to the zone when the boats are not overlapped .. (emphasis added below)

18.2. Giving Mark-Room
   
(a) When the first of two boats reaches the zone,
   (1) if the boats are overlapped, the outside boat at that moment shall give the inside boat mark-room
   (2) if the boats are not overlapped, the boat that has not reached the zone at that moment shall give the other boat mark-room

Blue is clearly overlapped inside of Yellow at #1 .. so it is 18.2(a)(1) which applies, not 18.2(a)(2).  18.2(a)(1) gives the inside boat (Blue) mark-room from the outside boat (Yellow).

PS:  BTW .. I need to debrief Blue and get her to share her in-the-zone acceleration technique.  Very impressive! :-)
Created: 25-Sep-03 12:16
P
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
I agree with Angelo here.

I did once have this happen when sailing a J/80 and rounding inside of a slower PHRF boat. They claimed they never saw us coming (to be fair we were planing in at about 5 times their speed), and they forced me into a broach to go behind them. It was the last time I sailed in that fleet.
Created: 25-Sep-03 14:40
Warren Collier
Nationality: United States
Just adding that the last sentence from the definition of Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap changes things from our normal thinking when the boats are more than 90 degrees off the wind which the boats are.
Created: 25-Sep-03 17:56
António Negreiros Fernandes
Nationality: Portugal
Angelo, very enlightening your comment and thanks for the update.

PS:  I will pass your contacts to blue ;-D
Created: 25-Sep-03 14:26
Dennis Dyer
Strictly reading rule 18.2(a1) alone implies that 'the outside boat' refers to the boat that is outside the zone (when the first boat reaches it).  But 18.2(a2) defines 'the boat that has not reached the zone' as being the one that is outside the zone.

If I were Yellow, I would yell back, "No rights, Starboard, no overlap."  Given estimated rhumb-line courses of Y@~220 and B@~155, Blue claims overlap rights.  Yellow would claim that her proper course bearing was 230, so at time of zone entry she bore 240 (due to set and dowse of spin), and therefore no overlap at that moment.

Blue's only rights claim would be based on a reasonably doubtful and questionable overlap, so it should “be presumed that she did not" have one.
Created: 25-Sep-03 21:52
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Dennis ... i agree with Mike here ...   in how you are looking at it. 

Inside/Outside refers to the relative positions of 2 boats to a mark/obstruction, and NOT which boat is inside/outside the zone.  This is clear in the Casebook (see Case 12 for instance), but also clear when you simply read RRS 18 and RRS 19 together.  RRS 19 has nothing to do with a zone ... but uses the terms inside/outside with a meaning consistent with RRS 18 as i described.


"I would yell back, "No rights, Starboard, no overlap."
Here, I do not see how you are trying to use their relative angles to show there is no overlap.  On the contrary, with 2 boats meeting each other at the mark ... the relative approach angles you use in your description would be stronger evidence FOR OVERLAP .. not against overlap.

Yellow has to be careful here. If there is a clear overlap (and clearly there is) and she yells "no overlap", she risks a RRS 2 violation (or even RRS 69), unless she can convince the PC that she either didn't understand the rules or that it was a close-call (see Case 47)
Created: 25-Sep-04 10:51
P
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
To add to Angelo's comment, I would ask:
if the boats are not overlapped, which boat is clear astern of the other?

The italicized words above reference the definition of overlap (abbreviated here):
One boat is clear astern of another when her hull and equipment are behind a line abeam from the aftermost point of the other boat's hull and equipment... They overlap when neither is clear astern.... These terms apply to boats on opposite tacks only when rule 18 applies between them or when both boats are sailing more than ninety degrees from the true wind.
Created: 25-Sep-04 11:54
David Taylor
Nationality: Australia
One upon a time, Dennis, when we were all sailing symmetric spinnakers we were generally sailing similar courses towards a leeward mark so 'overlap' was fairly intuitive for most people to understand. Assymmytric kites changed all of that!

So, as the angles got bigger it started to get confusing or unclear for many. The wider the angles the more likely there is overlap. In fact, at 90+ degrees there IS ALWAYS overlap based on the definition and simply geometry!

Perhaps check out #3 at https://sailzing.com/rule-18-2-giving-mark-room-racing-rules-of-sailing-2021-2024/
Created: Tue 07:35
P
Michael Butterfield
50
Tips
Dennis look at the rule book again.
Inside outside refer to overlapping boats not in out the zone. 
I disagree entirelly with you comments and advice. 
I simlarly do not believe your interpretation the the rule relating to overlap or not is correct. Here there is clearl an overlap.  The rule i believe refers to when wheter or not the overlap has changed and this is usually on the same tack. 
Created: 25-Sep-03 21:59
John Eilers
AGAIN this situation is the fault of the Race Committee setting a starboard rounding.  The rules do not handle starboard rounding's work well.  Earlier in the year there was a windward leeward course with a Starboard rounding, and a protest arose.  STOP SETTING THESE COURSES!  Port rounding's work well with the rules.
Created: Wed 03:19
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
John Ellers:  this situation is the fault of the Race Committee setting a starboard rounding 
Nobody is at fault here.  This is a perfectly normal application of the RRS.
Created: Wed 03:38
David Taylor
Nationality: Australia
Reply to: 18734 - John Allan
Hear, hear! The Rules work well in downwind starboard rounding sutiations like this so long as both parties understand both rule 18 and 'overlap'.
Created: Wed 06:06
Mark Townsend
Nationality: United Kingdom
50
Tips
John Eilers, AGAIN this situation is the fault of the Race Committee setting a starboard rounding.

This situation can occur at a downwind finish or a leeward gate, which are relatively common courses used at many events.

Created: Wed 04:20
P
Michael Butterfield
50
Tips
Two things.
The rules only work when people take the time to understand them 
Secondly, why is a fault to set a starboard rounding? People are too quick to criticise race committees. The may have good reason like another club using the same mark, water constraints (fishing rights on lakes). Give the race committee a brake and follow the course set.
Created: Wed 09:25
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more