Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

RRS 20.1

Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
Two port-tack boats are sailing close-hauled toward the windward mark, outside the zone (so Rule 18 does not yet apply).

A starboard-tack boat is also sailing close-hauled on the opposite tack (the “stand-on” boat under Rule 10).

The inner port-tack boat wants to tack because she is on a collision course with the starboard-tack boat.

However, the inner boat only shouts “woi tack!” — and does not use the proper call “Room to tack for an obstruction” as required by Rule 20.1(a).

It's safety rule, what shall starboard boat do?
Created: 25-Oct-12 23:13

Comments

Format:
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
There is no such thing as a 'safety rule'.  All of the RRS rules are equal.
 
RRS 14 requires S, when it is clear that PL is not keeping clear to avoid contact with PL if reasonably possible.

Bear in mind that, in this scenario, PL is exercising a choice under RRS 19.2(a):  she can always change her mind and bear away and pass astern of S, and accept her obligation to give PW room to pass between her and S under RRS 19.2(b)
Created: 25-Oct-13 00:21
Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
Reply to: 19289 - John Allan
Thanks John, but what I want to know, shall Stbd boat respond to the hail? 
Created: 25-Oct-13 01:46
Eric Meyn
The outer port tack boat is not blocking the inner port tack boat from tacking. And a boat is not an obstruction. The inner boat is also windward so the outer port boat has right of way there as well. The inner boat can tack or ease and slow down. 
Created: 25-Oct-13 01:08
John Ball
Nationality: Canada
The definition of Hail allows a local language.

From google translate - "Woi tack" is likely a phonetic spelling of the Chinese phrase "我去" (w qùw space q ù
𝑤 𝑞ù), which translates to "I'm going" or "I'm leaving" in English.
 It can express a variety of emotions, from excitement to frustration, and is often used as an exclamation or interjection

That does not sound like an acceptable translation for 'Room to Tack'. Is there a Chinese version of the RRS and what words does that specify for the hail?

Again google suggests the phrase "room to tack" can be translated to "空間\" (kōngjiān) for the general meaning of "room" or space. But knowing what is in the RRS would help?

John
Created: 25-Oct-13 02:08
Rob Overton
I agree with John Allen that rule 20 is just like all the other rules -- to the extent that the rules of Part 2 prevent boats colliding or hitting other objects, they are all "safety rules".  The rule about hailing for room to tack used to be called the "safety rule" a long time ago, but the rules writers realized that it was no such thing, and dropped that title.

Rule 14 specifically requires boats to avoid making contact or causing contact between other boats, so yes, the windward port-tack boat should tack or slow if it becomes clear that the leeward port-tack boat will collide with the starboard-tack boat if she doesn't tack.  But that has nothing to do with rule 20.  If the leeward boat doesn't hail properly for room to tack, rule 20 does not apply and the windward boat is not obligated to tack or respond in any way.  

My personal opinion is that rule 20 is far from being a safety rule, and in fact is the most dangerous rule in the RRS because it encourages boats to sail into danger and rely on a complicated set of hails and actions, possibly by multiple boats, to get her out of it.  Without rule 20, she would slow or otherwise provide for her own safety, as a prudent mariner should do.
Created: 25-Oct-13 02:11
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Rob ... sounds like you and John Christman had coffee. It's usually his job to throw RRS 20 under the bus. :-)
Created: 25-Oct-13 10:55
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Chin, Thanks John, but what I want to know, shall Stbd boat respond to the hail? 

No, S is not on the same tack as the hailing boat.  See RRS 20.1 first sentence.
Created: 25-Oct-13 02:13
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Eric, The outer port tack boat is not blocking the inner port tack boat from tacking.

PW might not be blocking PL from tacking, but that does not affect PL's entitlement to hail 'room to tack' under RRS 20.1.  If PL hails 'room to tack' PW must respond and if there is plenty of space for PL to do so, PW mar respond 'you tack' and do nothing else.

 And a boat is not an obstruction.

Absolutely a starboard tack right of way boat is an obstruction to a port tack give way boat, with the usual Optimist v Commanche exception.

Obstruction An obstruction is
(a)
an object that a boat could not pass without changing course
substantially, if she were sailing directly towards it and one of her
hull lengths from it;

(b) an object that can be safely passed on only one side; or
(c) an object, area or line that is so designated in a rule;
However, a boat racing is not an obstruction to other boats
unless they
are required to keep clear of her
or, if rule 22 applies, avoid her.

 The inner boat is also windward so the outer port boat has right of way there as well.

PL Is the inner boat.  She is to leeward of PW.  Unles  PL is clear astern of PW, she is ROW, RRs 11 or 12.

 The inner boat can tack or ease and slow down. 

Certainly she can, but that doesn't affect her RRS 20 entitlements.
Created: 25-Oct-13 02:51
Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
Reply to: 19295 - John Allan
Good discussion, thanks all for your contributions
Created: 25-Oct-13 03:10
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Chin, did you intend th 'woi tack' hail to be in Chinese language?

I'm betting that the Bhasa Melayu version of RRS 20.1 does have those words <g>.
Created: 25-Oct-13 03:22
Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
Reply to: 19297 - John Allan
Yes it's Bahasa Melayu (Malaysia). But Sometimes in English also beginer sailors can say "please tack" instead of "room to tack".. 
Created: 25-Oct-13 03:35
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Chin,  Does the Malaysia Sailing Association publish a version of the RRS in Bhasa Melayu?

If so, what are the words shown in quotes in RRS 20.1?

In the 2025 RRS using exactly the right words is important.
Created: 25-Oct-13 03:39
Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
Reply to: 19299 - John Allan
Negative.. We use the English version only... 
Created: 25-Oct-13 04:17
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
OK, how do you go with jury policies about RRS Introduction - Hails

 Hails A language other than English may be used for a hail required by the rules provided that it is reasonable for it to be understood by all boats affected. However, a hail in English is always acceptable.

And fitting that with RRS 20.1?
Created: 25-Oct-13 04:22
Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
Reply to: 19301 - John Allan
We will accepted only what wrote in the rule book, especially the term.. But in protest hearing, sailors allow to write in malay, I will translate to english for non Malaysian judges... 
Created: 25-Oct-13 05:26
P
Michael Butterfield
This is very difficult, and I am not sure the question asked has been answered.
To me if all boats use the local language and understand it, nothing has to be done to make a hail in that language acceptable.
There will always be a translation problem, as " room to tack" is strange wording.

So I believe the windward boat was required to respond to the hail.

This a bit like current UK law gived a two tier system, if you are in events where the competitors do not use the same language, " room to tack" is all that can be used.
In an event where all competitors use another language, something in that language, that may mean the same is now acceptable.

A strict rule if in English, but like the old rule for other language only regattas.
Created: 25-Oct-13 09:26
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
I don't think it is all that difficult.

If the MNA publishes RRS in the national language then the words in the national language version of RRS 20.1 OR 'room to tack' must be used.

If the MNA does not publish RRS in the national language, then it is up to the jury to establish a jury policy stating what words, other than 'room to tack' shall be used.

The change Inserting  '"room to tack"' into RRS 20.1 make  it clear that exact specified words must be used.
Created: 25-Oct-13 10:49
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
I don't agree with Rob that RRS 20 is necessarily a dangerous rule.

A boat exercising either prudent seamanship or sound tactics will initially hail in sufficient time to repeat the hail, or have it passed on if necessary, before she 'sails into danger'.
Created: 25-Oct-13 11:00
John Christman
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19307 - John Allan
That it is a dangerous rule is written right in the rule itself - "will soon need to make a substantial course change to avoid it safely".  If you can't avoid something safely then you are in danger of hitting it.  So the rule allows you to sail into a situation you know is going to be dangerous because you are sailing into a situation you cannot get out of without help.

Rob's (and my) main point is that if RRS 20 were not in the rule book, racers would deal with the situation much earlier using the existing rules.  Using this case as an example, PL could luff HTW in a way where she avoided S and gave time to PW to avoid her, under RRS 10, 11, and 16.  This would be a much safer option than waiting until she (PL)  would "soon need to take avoiding action" and then expecting PW to bail her out of the situation by tacking immediately.

Deleting RRS 20 would put an end to all the questions and threads about the exact words used, when they were used, if they were heard, etc.  Gee, one fewer rule and simplifying things.  One less nuance to the rules.  How can that be bad?
Created: 25-Oct-13 17:35
Iuan Gray
Nationality: South Africa
100
Tips
IMHO.

SCENARIO
NB: Other variables such as the relative positions, actual distance between the boats, their relative speeds etc could impact this.

Screenshot 2025-10-13 121159.png 21.2 KB


As we're outside the zone, the mark is irrelevant, so the terms inner and outer become relative to the obstruction.

BOAT IDENTIFIERS USED
GREEN: Stbd, and an Obstruction  - SOb
YELLOW: Port, Windward, Outer (relative to SO, the obstruction)  - PWO
BLUE: Port, leeward, Inner, (relative to SOb, the obstruction)  - PLI

OBLIGATIONS
All boats are required to avoid/and avoid causing contact (RRS 14).
SOb must hold her course (RRS 16).
PLI and PWO must both keep clear of SOb (RRS 10).
PLI must "choose" how she intends to avoid SOb early enough for PWO to keep clear of her RRS 19.2(a).
PWO must Keep Clear of PLI (RRS 11).
PWO must give PLI room to keep clear of SOb RRS 19.2(b).


YOUR ACTUAL QUESTION - WHAT SHOULD SOb DO?

  • No rule requires SOb to respond in any way to the call. So, leave PLI and PWO to resolve the issue of the RRS 20 call between themselves at any hearing.
  • SOb should hold her course (RRS 16).
  • If it becomes clear that PLI and/or PWO is not keeping clear, then SOb should (tack/duck/slow down) and protest whichever boat/s caused her to do so.
Created: 25-Oct-13 11:35
P
Michael Butterfield
John,i do  not agree with your comment.

There is nothing in the rules that says if a coultry publish a rule book they can change the words. 

A translated version just contains a translation. 

It is still open to a one language regatta to use similar words. 

The translates rule book is not given preference. 
Created: 25-Oct-13 14:47
John Christman
Nationality: United States
Ang - I am not alone tilting at this particular windmill! :-D  In the past, Rob and I have spent time together on umpire boats discussing this.  Since we are in complete agreement, we don't talk about it much anymore ;-).
Created: 25-Oct-13 17:38
P
Michael Butterfield
50
Tips
We sail in very tidal restricted waters and we need rule 20, it is part of our game.
Created: 25-Oct-13 18:56
John Christman
Nationality: United States
Michael - I don't think there is any situation that you cannot resolve using the other rules of Part 2, specifically RRS 11, 16, & 19.  But that is a discussion for another thread.
Created: 25-Oct-13 19:06
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Mike,  There is nothing in the rules that says if a coultry publish a rule book they can change the words. 

No, but RRS Introduction Hails says

Hails A language other than English may be used for a hail required by the rules provided that it is reasonable for it to be understood by all boats affected. However, a hail in English is always acceptable.

The rules drafters are trying to have it both ways:  specifying exact words in RRS 20.1 and saying 'any language' in the Introduction.

In my opinion, if a MNA translates the rules providing exact words, in quotes in RRS 20.1, that will meet the requirement.

Created: 25-Oct-13 21:00
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
John C re: "But that is a discussion for another thread."

Uhhh ... so MANY other threads ... we are running out of buses to throw rule 20 under. 
Created: 25-Oct-13 21:20
John Christman
Nationality: United States
We had a thread on this before - https://www.racingrulesofsailing.org/posts/3371-rule-20-do-we-really-need-it - no need to start a new one.  Better to keep this one on point.
Created: 25-Oct-13 21:25
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
I think when people are writing these 20.1 scenarios, we need to know what happened (hypothetically) after the hail. If leeward then headed up to HTW and got caught in the middle, she might be without fault. If she plowed on and peeled off the windward boat, she failed at RRS 19.

But also, I don't know exactly what we mean in this case by "inner" and "outer". I think of "inner" as being windward in this scenario, but it could also mean leeward. Need better descriptions, complete situation, and a diagram.
Created: 25-Oct-14 14:15
Dan Falcon
Nationality: United States
 Hails A language other than English may be used for a hail required by the rules provided that it is reasonable for it to be understood by all boats affected. However, a hail in English is always acceptable.

Several of us have argued against the "strict wording" approach to hails. I won't recount those arguments here. But I had failed to appreciate that the rules still rely on the other approach -- reasonableness standard -- in these situations.
Created: 25-Oct-14 17:46
Philip Hubbell
I suspect that there is confusion over "inner boat" meant as the boat between PW and S - not the inside (windward) boat at the mark.
Created: 25-Oct-14 18:46
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
For sure. It could also mean PL if they are in fact planning to tack and effectively leave the obstruction to starboard, they would become the inner boat (leaving aside the fact they eventually become leeward/ROW of the S boat.)
Created: 25-Oct-14 20:58
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Niko and Phil,

We shouldn't be too picky about how problem scenarios are presented.

Visualisation is an important skill for judges.

We should remember that not all posters here are experienced judges who are used to describing or diagramming situations.
Created: 25-Oct-14 21:02
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19326 - John Allan
I agree, but with the caveat that in this format, we rarely get to ask questions effectively. Maybe we should have a rule that for 24 hours no one comments except with questions, which OP then needs to respond to. This would be much more typical for a judge trying to resolve a question/issue/protest.
Created: 25-Oct-14 21:08
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
400
Tips
Niko ... we don't need to make things complicated with additional rules.   

No ads, 
no live protests, 
be kind, 
be patient,
be respectful
be helpful, and
be accepting of all levels of expertise. 

Along with those,  the forum has only needed the very occasional gentle nudge from your friendly neighborhood forum moderators ;-)
Created: 25-Oct-14 21:24
Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19329 - Chin In
Chin, if it were me (Green),  and I understood the hail as "room to tack", given the  geometry I might judge that Blue can likely tack and duck me and that I can clear Yellow (boat characteristics and conditions dependent). 

If I wanted to continue on port, I would reply "You Tack" and would be prepared to tack immediately if it's "iffy", but hold course if Blue can continue her rotation in a seamanlike way and duck me.  See Case 35

If I didn't mind tacking to STB, I'd say "you tack" and time my tack to put both Blue and Yellow in my backwind. 
Created: Wed 11:32
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
I think Chin is asking whether B can not respond at all?
Created: Wed 12:45
Mark Townsend
Nationality: United States
The way I read Chin's question was

If the leeward port-tack boat (Blue) hails  “woi tack!” when faced with an oncoming starboard-tack boat (Yellow), an obstruction, is the windward port-tack boat (Green) required to respond.

RRS Introduction: Hails A language other than English may be used for a hail required by the rules provided that it is reasonable for it to be understood by all boats affected. However, a hail in English is always acceptable. 

It would seem the answer is...
“Woi tack!” can be used in Malaysia provided that it is reasonable for it to be understood by all boats affected as asking for room to tack.

 

Created: Wed 14:41
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Mark and John ... correct ... that's why I started my comment with ...

"Chin, if it were me (Green),  and I understood the hail as "room to tack" .... "

In the scenario, Green is the only boat affected. 
Created: Wed 15:30
Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
Yes, we all can understand with words "Woi Tack", " Please tack", "come on rack". But all this words are not magic word *room to tack* as required by the rule ... 
Created: Thu 03:14
P
Michael Butterfield
Yes but in a fleet allowed to use a different language to English, I think that is acceptable.
Created: Thu 06:23
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
I'd like to slightly reframe Chin's question, as something has occurred to me thinking about everyone's responses.

Let's start with English.  We have the recent Q&A 2025-007 which clearly indicates that the exact words "room to tack" must be used, regardless of understanding.  It states .. (emphasis added)

Situation 2: As in Situation 1, except that B understands A’s need, but does not respond to A’s hail. A luffs head to wind to avoid touching the obstruction, and slows. B tacks, sometime after the hail, and A then tacks, and is now behind B in the race. There is no contact between them. A protests B for not responding to her hail. 

Question 2:How should the protest committee decide the protest? 

Answer 2: The protest should be dismissed. Rule 20.1 requires the boat to hail using the words ‘Room to tack’. Since A made a hail that did not include the words ‘Room to tack’, then the hail for room to tack has not been made. Rules 20.2(b) and (c) do not apply and Boat B is not required to answer. Furthermore, no other rule of Part 2 was broken in the incident. 

OK .. thinking about the above, I think we've honed in on the source of confusion.  In other languages, understanding is a key. 

Requoting the Introduction .. (emphasis added)
Hails: A language other than English may be used for a hail required by the rules provided that it is reasonable for it to be understood by all boats affected. However, a hail in English is always acceptable.

So there we have it ...

When using another language it's all about understanding.  When in English, 'reasonableness of it to be understood' has no bearing.  The exact words must be used.

This begs the question:  "Who decides what is 'reasonable to be understood by all boats affected' ?"

The first obvious answer is the hailed boats themselves (as stated in Introduction: Hails).  If the hailed boat(s) understood that the hail  meant 'room to tack', then the hail is acceptable.  Is this true if the direct translation of that hail was a hail for "water", if that hail was well understood to mean "room to tack" in that language?

This is in contrast in the English speaking areas where calls for "water" was traditional and understood in this circumstance to mean "room to tack".  Q&A 2025-007 tells us "reasonableness to be understood" does not matter and thus hails for "water" to mean "room to tack" is unacceptable.

Or .... 

Are we saying that Introduction "hail" requires a word-for-word translation, such that a hail for "water" in another language, though 100% understood by those affected as "room to tack", would be unacceptable?
Created: Thu 15:15
John Christman
Nationality: United States
Ang - Situation 2 is exactly what would happen if RRS 20 didn't exist and it is the right outcome.  A was already behind B in the race as B was in a controlling position and she remains ahead of A.  One of the worst parts of RRS 20 is that in nearly all cases there is a lead change.
Created: Thu 19:15
P
Michael Butterfield
No none English if understood it is ok.
We are used to this in the UK as the government has responsibilities for citizens, but all others are eligible for lesser requirements. 
Created: Thu 15:24
Dan Falcon
Nationality: United States
This reveals an interesting interaction between "understanding" and the new 20.1. Let's modify the Q&A scenario in a realistic way...

Two boats are close-hauled on starboard tack, approaching an obstruction, such as the shore or the bank of a river. Boat A needs room to tack and avoid boat B. Boat A makes a hail in English that does not include the words 'Room to tack'. Boat B understands A's need and does not tack. Boat A tacks. Boat B shouts that A does not have the right to tack, then tacks. The boats make contact. They would not have made contact if Boat B had not hesitated and had tacked immediately when they saw Boat A start their tack.

If Boat B understood Boat A's hail, it seems clear that Boat B would be expected to tack immediately when Boat A tacks. Given the advance warning, it would be immediately clear that Boat A is not keeping clear. Boat B breaks 14 (a) and cannot avail themselves of the "need not act until it is clear" clause.

So, by adding the "magic words" clause, the new rule 1) doesn't change what happens on the water -- Boat B is still required to treat a call for "water" or any other reasonably understood hail as if it were the "magic words" hail, 2) encourages Boat B to then protest not because Boat A didn't have rights to room but because they used the wrong words (who would do that?), 3) still puts the PC in the role of deciding whether Boat B reasonably understood the hail, but for RRS14 instead of RRS20.

Seem like a reasonable view?
Created: Thu 18:24
P
Michael Butterfield
The reasonably understood only applies to none English hails.
No correct hailwindward need do nothing.
It is all on the boat needing room.
They can luff subject to 16 but not tack.

If they tack and there is contact with no damage the row boat is exonerated. They should not expect the other boat to tack so they to me may not break 14 at all as they did not anticipate.

This is a horror zone look at the ws case on port starboard by the shore. Port is toast as as the boat failing to make the correct hail.

I think is if harsh but ws seem happy with this hardship, they created it when there seemed no problem.
Created: Thu 18:43
Dan Falcon
Nationality: United States
I think that if a boat shouts "Room!" or "Need to tack!" and waits a reasonable time and tacks, the other boat will not be able to say "it wasn't clear what they were doing until the last minute." They literally told you exactly what they were going to do. In a case of damage, they would not (and should not) be exonerated. (Of course, the hailing boat would break 13, 20.1, 14.)

Hence, even if the 20.1 hail doesn't have the magic words, the reasonably risk-averse skipper (and let's face it, the better sportsman) will treat it as a conforming hail, either by tacking or hailing you tack.
Created: Thu 19:05
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
Dan, I would disagree with the part of "the better sportsman". By tacking or hailing "you tack" you create a more confusing situation, where 20.1 was perhaps invoked by the responding boat, rather than the hailing boat. What you can do to be sportsmanlike is be extra prepared to avoid, and possibly hail "room to duck". You still have the obligation to not cause a collision AND that will typically be faster for you anyway, so tack if you need to, but it's not more sportsmanlike to invoke rules that aren't yours to invoke.

The corollary I can think of is calling a first serve in tennis "in" when it was out, and then forcing the server to play the point off that bad serve when they weren't really ready. Playing the game as written is most useful for new racers.
Created: Fri 14:12
P
Michael Butterfield
This revision of the rules is the worst I have ever seen!
Created: Thu 18:44
P
Michael Butterfield
Boats tell you all the time what they are going to do.
It is well established you do not have to anticipate, you follow what happens then make the call. 

Lots of boats on port shout tacking expecting other boats to keep clear as soon as they tack trying to avoid rrs 15
Created: Thu 19:18
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Mike re: "It is well established you do not have to anticipate, you follow what happens then make the call. "

Case 54 (emphasis added)

Question 2
How quickly must B respond?
Answer 2
When the boats are clearly approaching an obstruction at which A will need
room to tack, B must be alert to the situation and anticipate a hail from A.
Anticipation is necessary because rule 20.2(c) requires B to respond either by
immediately replying ‘You tack’ or by tacking as soon as possible. If B does
not immediately hail ‘You tack’, A must give B the time required for a
competent, but not expert, crew to prepare for and execute her tack in a
seamanlike manner as soon as possible in the prevailing conditions

Created: Fri 12:16
P
Michael Butterfield
But 20does exist and it does sort the rights out in a sensible manner. 

If there is some seperation you do not have to rack, call you tack to lee bow them so there is not a lead change. 

This goes back to the previous posts, the boat gets room to tack, not tack and go down to closehaulled. 
Created: Thu 19:27
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
John C re: "Ang - Situation 2 is exactly what would happen if RRS 20 didn't exist and it is the right outcome."

John .. your seemingly endless supply of buses is quite impressive.  :-)
Created: Thu 23:31
Dan Falcon
Nationality: United States
Angelo and Michael -- I think three different types of anticipation... 

  • 20.1 timing: anticipating, meaning keeping a close watch, being alert to the situation -- seems limited to the inquiry as to how much time should the 20.1 hailing boat give the hailed boat. The answer seems "a reasonable amount given the situation." If you're sailing on a 120m wide river, well, it is reasonable to expect you to be pretty ready to tack, because, obvious.
  • Part 2 generally: anticipating you might lose right of way soon -- not required. If while going upwind, a boat is coming at you higher and faster and from behind, you don't need to anticipate and come up before the overlap is created. (And they don't get to just ram you if you don't.)
  • R14 requirement to avoid contact when it becomes clear the other boat is not keeping clear -- this is also about anticipating... I was anticipating the other boat will come to their senses and change course, now that it is clear to a reasonable skipper that they are not changing course, so I am under an obligation to do what I can to avoid contact.
    • In the R20.1 case, I think in some scenarios, the PC should take the hail into account when determining when it was "clear" that the hailing boat was not going to keep clear. Consider:
      • A boat hails "Room" and leaves out "to tack." Let's assume the hailing boat is too close to duck the hailed boat. Then, 45 seconds after the hail, the hailing boat begins their tack. To a reasonable skipper, it was clear what they were going to do, it is now abundantly clear that they are doing it. But instead, the hailed boat holds their course. They hold it long enough that they hit them and damage occurs. The hailed skipper says "I was unclear as to what they were doing" or "I thought they were going to tack back." I think they clearly broke Rule 14, because they did not take action when it was clear that the hailing boat was not keeping clear. It's just what Rule 14 is meant to avoid: taking the thinnest of technical excuses (they used the wrong words) to put sea lawyering over the obligation to avoid contact.
Created: Fri 21:03
Dan Falcon
Nationality: United States
Niko --

I don't think there is an analogy in another sport. This is not like calling an out ball in in tennis. It is more like "I win the point because you called the score '30 to Zero' instead of "30 Love". I don't know many sports, but I don't know one where saying "Room" (accepted for generations) and leaving out "to tack" changes whether the rule applies.

As for sportsmanship and teaching, in my experience, technicalities like this are best taught off the water in the coaching room, the parking lot, or the bar. If you are racing in 35 foot boats toward a seawall and ignore a hail of "Room" because you think they left out "to tack"... I cannot guarantee that they will think you a good teacher or a good sport.
Created: Fri 21:16
P
Michael Butterfield
Dan i like your comments on anticipation.
A change of row need not be anticipated but apparently you should anticipate a hail. 

This if course contrasts with the other case, where you have to hail early enough to allow for a second haid. Ws looking both ways at once, not good for clarity. 

I do not like the current hail requirements, but they, and the effects are forced onto us by ws
Created: Sat 09:39
P
Michael Butterfield
Angelo, the case goes against all accepted principles regarding anticipation.
It is inconsistant in itself, in describing a hail as having to be sufficieltly loudfor the other boat to hear it  hardly consistent with anticipation.

As i see it you wait to hear the hail that must be capable of you hearing it, then you responed.

If you do not hear, do not fear as they will hail again.

I am sure this case from its original has been edited and edited, this shows how commirtee creep, comes in and what was originally agreed by a large ws body gets changed by a small committee.

I was shocked to be at an evenr weeks off the rule bok being finalised, to find a jury member was stll in edit mode. The ws main committee had approved subject to edit, this was done by a few possibly without reference to the main committee again.

It is sloppy and leads to the mess of a rule book ( i mean on changes) we have this time.
Whether if you see an incident and can protest, very sensible, is resolved we do not know.
Weas judges on this are in a horrible position caused by the rewrite of the rules.

A mess!
Created: Sat 11:43
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Mike .. Case 54 has a source footnote as "GBR 2016/2".   Maybe you have access to earlier versions of the case before it was elevated to a WS Case?
Created: Yesterday 01:52
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more