Translation missing: en.posts.shared.post_not_found

Powered by
WIND


Recent Posts

Recent Comments

  • For the future, you may want to look at the US Sailing comments on scoring a Long Series.  This is noted at the end of Appendix A.  Go to ussailing.org/rules and select 'Scoring a Long Series'.

    My club uses DNC = number of finisher plus 2.  DNS = number of finishers plus 1.
    Today 03:07
  • Al re: "Does sailing TO the mark mean pointing your bow at the next mark of the course, absent any current, or with taking current into effect?"

    The verb is "sail" not "point", so whatever a boat would need to do to make the boat transit through the water to the mark on its proper-side. 

    That said, I was a bit confused by your question because you quote def: mark-room but then say "next mark of the course". 
    Yesterday 12:24
  • Here it is ... it appears in the first comment.

    Thanks Paul!

    image.png 308 KB
    Fri 12:22
  • The key question here is did Yellow give Orange space to comply with her obligations including space to give Green mark-room as Yellow is required to do under RRS 16.1

    From the diagram, I would have said yes, but from the testimony, I am less certain
    • In the diagram, the turn that yellow makes begins at 2.6, while Orange does not begin turning until 3.6
    • in the testimony, the turn is described as "sudden" however, there is no description of how Orange steers.
    • in the testimony, I note that yellow turns at 3, but that Orange is still clear astern at 3.5 when Green reaches the zone clear ahead.
    • It is also stated that there was time to pull in the sail (manual sheeting), but there does not seem to have been as much effort to put the helm to leeward

    -Since I don't know the boats, I would need to determine whether it is harder to steer than to sheet in.
    -I would also ask if Yellow might need to swing wide (to windward) in order to sail her proper course to the mark, given the lumbering nature of the boats?

    Regardless of the outcome of this case, I would recommend to the Orange boat, that the new rules allow clear-ahead boats to really take lots of room and time while rounding offset marks. I personally believe it is a serious rules problem. However, given the rules, as a clear-astern boat, I would want to be going behind, outside, and possibly slow any time I'm following a clear-ahead boat into that mark-zone... and this might need to start at 4 or 5 boat-length in order to have enough room to maneuver a big boat.

    Summary of facts and conclusions:
    1. Y is leeward and inside and/or clear ahead at the zone: has mark-room and ROW. May exercise both rights. Must comply with 16.1 if sailing outside her mark-room
    2. G is clear ahead at the zone... has mark-room. Initially has ROW, but that changes once O is overlapped inside.
    3. Y changes course sharply to windward at 3
    4. O changes course slightly to windward at 3.6, while maintaining a fully trimmed sail and becomes overlapped with G shortly thereafter
    5. O does not give mark-room to G
    6. should we exonerate O based on sailing within her room given by 16.1?

    The more I think about this, the more I just don't understand how O was ever going to be able to give G mark-room if she wasn't already sailing behind G at point 3.5. She is keep-clear on both boats at that point, and also owes both mark-room... she should be allowing them more room to maneuver, including to slow down, and to take the long, slow turns that these boats require to round the marks in a seamanlike manner.
    Wed 14:47
  • In the US we have replaced all of Appendix R.  In our version, the time limit has remained at 15 days.
    Wed 01:37

Forums Leader Board

This Month

1 John Allan 5.05K
2 Michael Butterfield 4.8K
3 Niko Kotsatos 4.7K
4 Gijs Vlas 3.8K
5 Benjamin Harding 3.3K
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more