Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
Technically I think a race is only abandoned if the RC or PC declares it so (per definition of abandon). But rule 35 does require the RC to declare a race abandoned if no boat finished within the time limit. Rule 32.1 describes other circumstances where the RC may abandon a race, and rule 64.3 allows a PC to consider abandonment as a form of redress.