Toggle Navigation
Racing Rules of Sailing
RRS
Rules
Definitions
Cases
Regulations
Race Signals
World Sailing Judges Manual
Forums
Help
Language [en]
English
English
Greek
Greek
Spanish
Spanish
French
French
Hungarian
Hungarian
Italian
Italian
Japanese
Japanese
Korean
Korean
Dutch
Dutch
Norwegian
Norwegian
Portuguese
Portuguese
Swedish
Swedish
Chinese CN
Chinese CN
Chinese TW
Chinese TW
Search
Sign Up
Sign In
Forum: Rule 18 and Room at the Mark
Forums
The Racing Rules of Sailing
Rule 18 and Room at the Mark
Protest Committee & Hearing Procedures
Race Committee & Race Management
Rules 2 and 69
Match and Team Racing Rules
Training Materials, Presentations and Classes
Share Your SI/NOR Language
Event Management System (Q's, Comments & Suggestions)
規則 - Traditional Chinese Channel
2022 Test Rule 18 - Revision 1 (May 2022)
Regole e dintorni - Italian Channel
Posts
In the Zone, not fetching...
Leeward Mark Proper Course vs Seaman-like
18.3 Out the zone ?
18.4 vs Mark-Room
Another 18.3 scenario
more...
Forum Guidelines
Note:
This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of
World Sailing
.
Menu
New rule 14; 2025-2028
65K
Catalan Benaros
Nationality:
Argentina
0
Hi friends
In this case, in position #3, orange does not make contact.
Blue and red do make contact.
What about Orange and rule 14 ??
Cheers !!!
Cata
k1.jpg
160 KB
Created: 24-Dec-12 13:56
Comments
10.1K
John Ball
1
No one has replied yet, so I’ll kick it off. Using the RRS 2025-2028.
Orange is owed mark room by both Blue and Red. 18.2(a)
When Blue and Red reach the zone, Blue owes mark room to Red. 18.2(a).
Orange breaks R11 and 16.1 relative to Blue and is exonerated 43.1(b).
Blue breaks R 18.2(a) relative to Orange, and Red, and breaks R 11 relative to Red. Blue is DSQ
The cause of the contact is Blue’s failure to give mark room to Orange and Red and she breaks R14 with no exoneration and is DSQ
Red breaks R 18.2 relative to Orange, and is DSQ
Red breaks R 14 relative to Blue and is exonerated under 43.1(c ) unless there is damage/injury.
If Orange breaks R 14 – but it is not clear that she did, she is exonerated under 43.1(c) if no damage/injury.
John
Created: 24-Dec-13 23:20
259.6K
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality:
United States
Certifications:
Regional Judge
2
Catalan .. another great example of what will have to be sorted-out by the WS-RC with the new Rule 14.
John Standley kicked-off a 60+ comment thread on the new RRS 14
here
.
Created: 24-Dec-14 13:27
[You must be
signed in
to add a comment]
×
Close
×
Last Updated
Rules
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2013-2016; Version 6
December 2015
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2017-2020
August 2017
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2021-2024
December 2020
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2025-2028
March 2025
Prescriptions
Australia
July 2017
Canada
November 2019
Great Britain - RYA has declined to grant a license for prescriptions and cases.
November 2019
New Zealand
July 2017
United States
March 2025
Cases
World Sailing Cases
February 2022
World Sailing Q&As
March 2022
Match Race Calls
January 2020
Match Race Rapid Response Calls
October 2018
Team Race Calls
December 2018
Team Race Rapid Response Calls
February 2016
CAN Cases
October 2017
RYA Cases
November 2019
US Appeals
November 2019
Manuals
World Sailing Judges Manual
December 2019
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.
OK
Learn more
If Orange breaks R 14 – but it is not clear that she did, she is exonerated under 43.1(c) if no damage/injury.
John
John Standley kicked-off a 60+ comment thread on the new RRS 14 here.