Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
I also see no scenario - but from a tactical perspective if I were on Yellow then I would bear away at 2 since Blue still has to drop her spinnaker and make a short rounding and tail behind Blue that will most likely leave room between her and the mark, or come out on a lower course upwind.
Gijs - or, looking at the speed blue is going to cover that much more ground between 2 and 3: at 3, dump the jib to slow and luff behind blue, then dump an armful of mainsheet and whip in the jib to dive back down past their stern. A quick s-turn there to get blue clear to leeward of you while they still have their spinnaker up and having to drop and gybe a boat length from the mark, they are not going to be able to shut the door. You’ll pop through tight to the mark and a boat length to windward.
@Tim - risky move .... at 3 there is hardly room and risk of colloding is hughe - It is not clear how quick these boats manoeuvre ..... Luffing at 2 a better option I guess
I tuoni that we should put focus on who entered in the area first. Yellow at position 1 entered in the area. She should have the right of room at mark.
Yellow at position 1 entered in the area. She should have the right of room at mark.
Carlo re: "Yellow at position 1 entered in the area. She should have the right of room at mark. "
The above quoted statement is not correct based upon the new 18.2(a)(2). 18.2(a)(2) ONLY provides mark-room to the first boat to the zone when the boats are not overlapped .. (emphasis added below)
18.2. Giving Mark-Room
(a) When the first of two boats reaches the zone, (1) if the boats are overlapped, the outside boat at that moment shall give the inside boat mark-room (2) if the boats are not overlapped, the boat that has not reached the zone at that moment shall give the other boat mark-room
Blue is clearly overlapped inside of Yellow at #1 .. so it is 18.2(a)(1) which applies, not 18.2(a)(2). 18.2(a)(1) gives the inside boat (Blue) mark-room from the outside boat (Yellow).
PS: BTW .. I need to debrief Blue and get her to share her in-the-zone acceleration technique. Very impressive! :-)
I did once have this happen when sailing a J/80 and rounding inside of a slower PHRF boat. They claimed they never saw us coming (to be fair we were planing in at about 5 times their speed), and they forced me into a broach to go behind them. It was the last time I sailed in that fleet.
Just adding that the last sentence from the definition of Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap changes things from our normal thinking when the boats are more than 90 degrees off the wind which the boats are.
Strictly reading rule 18.2(a1) alone implies that 'the outside boat' refers to the boat that is outside the zone (when the first boat reaches it). But 18.2(a2) defines 'the boat that has not reached the zone' as being the one that is outside the zone.
If I were Yellow, I would yell back, "No rights, Starboard, no overlap." Given estimated rhumb-line courses of Y@~220 and B@~155, Blue claims overlap rights. Yellow would claim that her proper course bearing was 230, so at time of zone entry she bore 240 (due to set and dowse of spin), and therefore no overlap at that moment.
Blue's only rights claim would be based on a reasonably doubtful and questionable overlap, so it should “be presumed that she did not" have one.
Dennis ... i agree with Mike here ... in how you are looking at it.
Inside/Outside refers to the relative positions of 2 boats to a mark/obstruction, and NOT which boat is inside/outside the zone. This is clear in the Casebook (see Case 12 for instance), but also clear when you simply read RRS 18 and RRS 19 together. RRS 19 has nothing to do with a zone ... but uses the terms inside/outside with a meaning consistent with RRS 18 as i described.
"I would yell back, "No rights, Starboard, no overlap." Here, I do not see how you are trying to use their relative angles to show there is no overlap. On the contrary, with 2 boats meeting each other at the mark ... the relative approach angles you use in your description would be stronger evidence FOR OVERLAP .. not against overlap.
Yellow has to be careful here. If there is a clear overlap (and clearly there is) and she yells "no overlap", she risks a RRS 2 violation (or even RRS 69), unless she can convince the PC that she either didn't understand the rules or that it was a close-call (see Case 47)
To add to Angelo's comment, I would ask: if the boats are not overlapped, which boat is clear astern of the other?
The italicized words above reference the definition of overlap (abbreviated here):
One boat is clear astern of another when her hull and equipment are behind a line abeam from the aftermost point of the other boat's hull and equipment... They overlap when neither is clear astern.... These terms apply to boats on opposite tacks only when rule 18 applies between them or when both boats are sailing more than ninety degrees from the true wind.
Dennis look at the rule book again. Inside outside refer to overlapping boats not in out the zone. I disagree entirelly with you comments and advice. I simlarly do not believe your interpretation the the rule relating to overlap or not is correct. Here there is clearl an overlap. The rule i believe refers to when wheter or not the overlap has changed and this is usually on the same tack.
Antonio, did you have some other scenario in mind?
Thanks to all.
The above quoted statement is not correct based upon the new 18.2(a)(2). 18.2(a)(2) ONLY provides mark-room to the first boat to the zone when the boats are not overlapped .. (emphasis added below)
Blue is clearly overlapped inside of Yellow at #1 .. so it is 18.2(a)(1) which applies, not 18.2(a)(2). 18.2(a)(1) gives the inside boat (Blue) mark-room from the outside boat (Yellow).
PS: BTW .. I need to debrief Blue and get her to share her in-the-zone acceleration technique. Very impressive! :-)
I did once have this happen when sailing a J/80 and rounding inside of a slower PHRF boat. They claimed they never saw us coming (to be fair we were planing in at about 5 times their speed), and they forced me into a broach to go behind them. It was the last time I sailed in that fleet.
PS: I will pass your contacts to blue ;-D
"I would yell back, "No rights, Starboard, no overlap."
Here, I do not see how you are trying to use their relative angles to show there is no overlap. On the contrary, with 2 boats meeting each other at the mark ... the relative approach angles you use in your description would be stronger evidence FOR OVERLAP .. not against overlap.
Yellow has to be careful here. If there is a clear overlap (and clearly there is) and she yells "no overlap", she risks a RRS 2 violation (or even RRS 69), unless she can convince the PC that she either didn't understand the rules or that it was a close-call (see Case 47)
if the boats are not overlapped, which boat is clear astern of the other?
The italicized words above reference the definition of overlap (abbreviated here):
Inside outside refer to overlapping boats not in out the zone.
I disagree entirelly with you comments and advice.
I simlarly do not believe your interpretation the the rule relating to overlap or not is correct. Here there is clearl an overlap. The rule i believe refers to when wheter or not the overlap has changed and this is usually on the same tack.