Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

RRS 42.3(h) Use of an engine by a rib to get an aground racing boat afloat

P
Roger Wilson
I am interested in your opinion on the following scenario:
3 large yachts with 4m keels competing in a series of 3 races.
Boat A is leading the 2nd race by a healthy margin but gets grounded and the other 2 overtake. A accepts the assistance of a passing rib to get off mud as tide is falling. A finishes the course well within time limit and declares they accepted outside assistance on the grounds of safety but did not gain any advantage of place.
Boat A wins the 3rd race with B coming 2nd.
This results in a tie break which A wins due to last race 1st.
B asks for redress and says A should have been scored DNF for race 2, which would give B the series win.
Sailing instructions are silent on the use of an engine whilst racing.
Who is correct?
Obviously RRS 41(a) and 42 apply, esp 42.3(h) I can't find any relevant cases. Does "a propulsive engine" apply just to the Boat's engine or does include the RIBs engine?
Created: 25-Sep-04 11:03

Comments

Format:
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Roger .. I'll take a quick go at it. 

42.3(h) To get clear after grounding or colliding with a vessel or object, a boat may use force applied by her crew or the crew of the other vessel and any equipment other than a propulsion engine. However, the use of an engine may be permitted by rule 42.3(i).

Seems to me the phrasing of the above rule is clear ... can't rely upon the engine of "the other vessel".  If the argument is that the falling tide would have made her hopelessly grounded .. i can't see how she claims no advantage. 

Also, I don't think it's a DNF.  The RC shall shore her in her finish place.  IMO, it's  either she retires or the RC or another boat should protest her for breaking 43 as soon as that information is available.  
Created: 25-Sep-04 11:11
P
Michael Butterfield
I agree, if a boat complies with the definition of finish then she gets a finishing place. 

Except for the usual, only a protest committee can make a boats score worse. 
Created: 25-Sep-04 11:25
P
Michael Butterfield
On the redress matter, the boat could have protested, it did not, would it therefore be  partly her fault? So no redress? 
The rc made no act or ommission if they scored the finishing position, and protesting for them is discretionary, do no failure here. 
Created: 25-Sep-04 11:28
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
63.2(c) ???
If the validity requirements are met, the protest committee may change the type of case if it is appropriate to do so having considered the information in the case, including any evidence given during a hearing.

If the scoring was the first time the boat R4R'ing learned of the details and filed within the TL based on when the info was avail, if appropriate the PC could have considered the R4R a protest, and conducted the hearing as such (changing the type of case ... see Case 44)

It would depend upon the notice to Boat A i think.  
Created: 25-Sep-04 12:27
Charles Darley
Assume there are three boats entered and 42.3i applies.  Is finishing third a significant advantage in the race over 4 points for DNF or RTD?
Created: 25-Sep-04 11:55
Tim O'Connor
Tentatively: the RIB's engine is not equipment. It is equipment of another, external boat. It may not be availed of. 

The Race Committee correctly finished A third.

A did gain a significant advantage, namely, that of finishing third rather than finishing DNF. Rule 42.3 (i) does not apply.

It is discretionary for the RC to protest. Competitors, by contrast, are expected to follow and enforce the rules, and to take a penalty if aware of a breach (basic principles). B is aware that A grounded, as the facts are that B went past A while A was grounded and would have seen this. There is no information about when the protest time closes, but it seems to be a safe assumption that it is closed.

Therefore: A breached RRS 41. RRS 42.3 (h) does not apply. A gained a significant advantage by so doing. Even if it were her own engine, Rule 42.3 (i) would not apply. There is no exoneration under Rule 43. The RC were correct to finish A third, but A should have retired for the breach of RRS 41. The RC are not obliged to protest A for this, and it is not an improper omission for them not to protest. B could and should have protested A's failure to retire. B did not do so. If the protest time is still open, B should protest. If it is not open, the relative disadvantage is due to B's failure to protest. A gaining an advantage through B not protesting is not one of the grounds for redress under RRS 61.4 (b). B is not entitled to redress.
Created: 25-Sep-04 12:08
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Tim, you are introducing facts not in the OP. 

Roger does not provide a fact that Boat B saw Boat A aground or any witnessing on the water of the assistance Boat A received .. only that the other boats get ahead of A.

I would focus on the moment Boat B becomes aware that Boat A relied upon the engine/outside-help of the RIB to get free and that Boat A did not retire (and was not protested by RC). 

The confluensce of those 2 facts is the moment the information became available to B and when the filing TL starts to click, IMO.

We do not have either of those facts.

Now B files a R4R. Does she notify Boat A of her intention to do so?  Is the R4R filed timely relative to the confluence of those 2 facts above?  If so, then I think the R4R filing is arguably a protest ... maybe Boat B didn't understand the proper way to make this complaint since it is fairly odd that a boat would accept such assistance and not retire (and "odd" that an RC would accept such a report and simply score the boat without protesting her).   

PS: See Case 44
Created: 25-Sep-04 13:35
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
A received outside help that was not in the form of information or help for a crew member.  A broke RRS 41.

RRS 42.3(h)  refers to 'the other vessel', that is to say another vessel which a boat using propulsion collided with.  Using force applied by equipment of a RIB which A had not collided with is not permitted with respect to RRS 42.  The equipment of the RIB that applied force was it's engine:   that is a propulsion engine.  Using force applied by another vessel by means of it's propulsion engine us bit permitted with respect to RRS 42.  RRS 42.3(h) does not excuse A for receiving help from the RIB.

OP states that there was no SI permitting propulsion in accordance with RRS 42.3(i).  Whether or not A gained significant or any advantage is irrelevant to her breach of RRS 41.

If B had observed A being towed off the bank, she could have protested A.  Supposing that B did not come within hail of A around the time of the incident, B is not required to hail 'protest' or display a red flag, and her only obligation about her intention to protest is to inform A of her intention to protest at the first reasonable opportunity (RRS 60.2(b)).  Time for 'first reasonable opportunity runs from the time of B observing the incident

B did not protest A and if she had done so, seemingly, she did not inform A of her intention to protest so any protest would be invalid.

If B did protest A, she could contend that she observed a blatant rules breach and assumed that A had retired in accordance with Basic Principles Sportsmanship and the Rules, and only discovered to the contrary when the results were posted showing A scored in a place.  If B informed A of her intention to protest and delivered a written protest at the first reasonable opportunity after the results were posted, I would be inclined to accept that B had informed A at the first reasonable opportunity and also to extend the protest time limit so that B's protest was valid. I am aware of RYA Appeal 1999/1

 A boat that waits to see whether another boat will take a penalty before displaying a protest flag has not acted at the first reasonable opportunity.

In this case, If B had made a reasonable effort to get her protest in, I might remember that I am not in the UK, and might not undertake the argument by extension from that Appeal to declare B's protest invalid.

Hoooooowever, B has not protested A:  B has requested redress.

The grounds B advances for her entitlement to redress is an improper action by the race committee in scoring A in her place instead of DNF.

That is plainly wrong.  As Mike has said any boat that finishes cannot be scored DNF.

In accordance with RRS A5.1, a race committee can only penalise a boat without a hearing by scoring her other than in her finishing place by if she does not sail the course (including starting and finishing), ZFP, UFD, BFD or fails to provide a certificate in accordance with RRS 78.2, or the boat retires or takes a SCP.

None of those circumstances applies so the race committee cannot penalise A in any way.

IMHO A richly deserves to be penalised.  Is there some action that the race committee an take to achieve this?

Yes, the race committee may protest a boat (RRS 60.1).

For a race committee protest against A to be valid the race committee would need to inform A of it's intention to protest at the first reasonable opportunity.  Time for first reasonable opportunity woudl run from when the race committee received A's declaration.

If the race committee hasn't already protested A before B delivers her request for redress, then I think the race committee has missed the boat, an any protest from the race commitee against A will be invalid.

But is not protesting, or not validly protesting A an improper omission by the race committee?

Case 39 flatly says

A race committee is not required to protest a boat

The race committee is not itself empowered to penalise A, and is not obliged to protest A.

There is no improper action or omission by the race committee.

B has no grounds for an entitlement to redress.

Even if there was in improper action or omission by the race committee, B's own failure to validly protest A is fault of her own and this would disentitle her to redress.

In my opinion, A's declaration  that 'they accepted outside assistance on the grounds of safety but did not gain any advantage of place' is, to say the least disingenuous.

A mere glance at RRS 41 shows that gaining advantage is irrelevant to any breach of RRS 41. 

The assertion that there was no 'advantage of place' is, in my opinion highly unlikely.  A was fast aground on a falling tide. OP mentions that there was a race time limit.  I think that it is likely that if A had not been towed off, she would not have finished within the time limit and would have been scored worse than 3.

A's declaration in those terms looks very much like an attempt to throw dust in the eyes of the race committee. 

What the race committee could have done, on receipt of A's declaration was either
  • immediately inform A that the race committee intended to protest her or
  • perhaps, score A RET and look forward to A unsuccessfully requesting redress against that action.

Not having done that, the race committee might, if it believed that A's declaration was intended to confuse or mislead the race committee, report the matter to the protest committee and request RRS 69 action:  If the race committee can convince the protest committee, then A can be brought into a RRS 69 hearing and penalised, without consideration of protest validity.
Created: 25-Sep-04 13:37
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 18625 - John Allan
John re: "RRS 42.3(h)  refers to 'the other vessel', that is to say another vessel which a boat using propulsion collided with"

Nice catch ... it's not "an other vessel" it's "the other vessel". 
Created: 25-Sep-04 13:51
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
Was it a benign sheltered location, where the worst that could happen by waiting for the next tide was boredom, or would boat - and therefore crew - have been at risk if they hadn't got the boat off straightaway? But even then I think it's clear that if they hadn't had the assistance they would have been TLE or DFL, so they were clearly advantaged.
Created: 25-Sep-04 13:51
Kirsteen Donaldson
We've had similar discussions in the past about whether using an engine to get off the ground on a falling tide is 'safety' (and allowed) or 'gaining an advantage' and have been through various iterations.  We currently include in the instructions 'A boat that uses her engine to get clear after grounding shall stop using her engine as soon as she is clear, notify the use of her engine to the RO with her finish declaration, and accept without a hearing a penalty of 30 minutes added to her elapsed time.' (and cite applicable rules changed). Our thinking is that if she goes aground on a rising tide, 30 minutes is a big enough penalty that she would just wait for the tide to carry her off, but if she does it on a falling tide, she would feel able to use the engine and accept the penalty, which is sufficient that it other boats shouldn't feel agrieved.  But we didn't think of the engine being on another boat!
Created: 25-Sep-04 14:01
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Charles   Is finishing third a significant advantage in the race over 4 points for DNF or RTD? 

Absolutely it is.

In OP scenario it's the difference between first and last in the series.

1 place is usually regarded as significant, until we get down into the 30s, and even then we need to think about qualifiactions, rankings and placings in obscure sub-series.
Created: 25-Sep-04 14:06
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Jim, you seem to be saying that <vessel at risk> = <vessel in danger> = <crew in danger>.

I don't think that holds up in general terms.

If there had been danger to crew, the wily writer of A's declaration would have said 'crew in danger RRS 41(a)' loud and long.
Created: 25-Sep-04 14:09
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
Reply to: 18630 - John Allan
'), Case 44 uses the word "shall" (' the protest committee shall treat it accordingly'). So there are instances when the PC "shall" change the "type of case" from the type the boat filed.  So, Boat B might use Case 44 to request a reopen and make th...
>  <vessel at risk> = <vessel in danger> = <crew in danger>.

I think if the vessel is at risk of significant damage or breakup as the tide falls, for instance if being bounced around by surf, then you have to say the crew is in danger. But I agree, it doesn't sound as if that was the situation. 

In any case, while that might clear them of breaking RRS41, I don't see that exonerates them for a breach of RRS42. And I'm firmly in agreement with the consensus that not losing places constitutes advantage. 

Created: 25-Sep-04 15:30
P
Michael Butterfield
Do not really blame the boat, ok it did not retire, but it did report the assistance.

This was inappropriate  but i believe required under the old rules, you then awaited your fate after the rc reviewed it.

Ws has removed this, i am not saying whether this is right or wrong.

It is just keeping tinkering with the rules and leads to confusion.

Created: 25-Sep-04 14:13
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Kirsteen, I think once your race committee decides to allow propulsion to get clear after grounding, you've opened the door and that's quite OK.

But your SI allowing use of a boat's own engine under RRS 42 has no effect on receiving help under RRS 41.
Created: 25-Sep-04 14:14
Charles Darley
Very significant in the series but 42.3i says significant advantage in the race.  A place is not at stake, boat is last in any case.
Created: 25-Sep-04 14:16
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Charles: score for 3rd place is 3, score for DNF is 4 (or greater if there are some entrants that did not sail).

And that's all the more significant because of it's effect on the pointscore.
Created: 25-Sep-04 14:20
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
MIke, I'm quite happy to blame the boat.

Unless we're talking about Jeanneau 55s, we're talking about boats with at least someone on board getting paid good money to race the boat who should know better than to put in a smart-alec declaration.
Created: 25-Sep-04 14:23
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
PS .. one more interesting thing on RRS 63.2(c) and Case 44.   

Though 63.2(c) uses the word "may" ('may change the type of case'), Case 44 uses the word "shall" (' the protest committee shall treat it accordingly'). So there are instances when the PC "shall" change the "type of case" from the type the boat filed. 

So, Boat B might use Case 44 to request a reopen and make the argument that the PC made a significant error (or the PC decides to themselves) in not treating his R4R as a protest. 
Created: 25-Sep-04 14:35
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Ang, strongly disagree.  You can't morph a request for redress into a protest in any circumstances.

RRS 60.4(b)

A protest is invalid also if it is from a committee and is based on information from
(1) a request for redress,

And for a protest to be valid, the protestor has to inform the protestee of the intention to protest (RRS 60.2)
Created: 25-Sep-04 14:41
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 18637 - John Allan
I'm saying the PC could have considered the R4R a protest.  It's not a new filing generated from info form it ... it's a conversion of the initial filing from the type of case (R4R) to a protest .. which is directly allowed under 63.2(c).  

63.2(c) puts no limitation on the type of conversion .. from one to another. 
Created: 25-Sep-04 14:44
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 18637 - John Allan
re: notice ... I have mentioned it would also depend on the notice, if any, Boat B made to Boat A directly.  If in that notice Boat B tells Boat A that she thinks Boat A broke a rule .. that this is not right ... and she's going to file, that arguably meets def: protest. 
Created: 25-Sep-04 14:49
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Reply to: 18637 - John Allan
Ang,

I follow you, but I think that 'informing of the intention to protest' needs to include the word 'protest'

I think the opening reference to 'If the validity requirements are met' in RRS 63.2(c) is pointing directly at the requirement to inform the protestee.

A boat cannot be penalised without a protest hearing and a protest hearing cannot proceed beyond the validity stage if it is invalid.

So the protest committee can change a redress hearing into a protest hearing but they will normally immediately have to declare the protest invalid and close the hearing (unless they promptly change it back into a redress hearing).

In other words RRS 63.2(c) is a one way valve.
Created: 25-Sep-04 22:56
John Wade
No one mentioned DSQ. Seems to me that A clearly accepted outside help that was advantageous, i.e. A finished the race with a good score. After grounding, 42.3 (h), a vessel may use any method OTHER than a propulsion engine, unless specifically permitted in the Sailing Instructions 42.3(i)..
Created: 25-Sep-04 14:51
P
Michael Butterfield
Lot of talk about gaining an advantage, but where is this a feature of the rule, about being towed off by a rib?
Created: 25-Sep-04 15:35
P
Roger Wilson
Thank you all for your comments.

The incident occurred in a fast flowing river in Malaysia with more than 2m of ebb left. All parties viewed the help as complying with RRS 41(a) "help for a crew member who is ill, injured or in danger" as, even if the keel did not snap nor the boat swamp, it would have been after dark very close to a busy shipping lane by the time they could re-float.

The question then rested on whether A had infringed RRS 43.3(h)

The PC did not grant redress, they could not protest A themselves and neither the RC nor the competitors protested A within the time limit.

After a heated debate in the Bar, A decided to retire so B won the Event. I will report back to the Bar on your opinion! 
Created: 25-Sep-04 15:37
P
Michael Butterfield
Interesting.
A pc cannot use the facts in a r4r to lodge a protest. 
It can however re classify the r4r as a protest if it meets the requirements. 

So it is a protest from the original boat and not the pc. 
Created: 25-Sep-04 16:06
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Mike .. yes ... that's how i read both 63.2(c) and Case 44
Created: 25-Sep-04 16:19
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
Am I reading this correctly?

42.3(g) permits any propulsion for assistance for a person in danger.

"gaining an advantage" is only mentioned in three places:
  - 42.3(i) which is only active if SIs invoke it, 
  - 44.1(b), which deals with taking a penalty, and 
  - 62.4(a), action by a support person. 
So does this mean that gaining an advantage by being towed off from a dangerous situation is permitted unless its done by your own support crew?


Created: 25-Sep-04 17:23
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Jim,  I think if the vessel is at risk of significant damage or breakup as the tide falls, for instance if being bounced around by surf, then you have to say the crew is in danger. 
I agree, but those are facts that would need to be proved.

My concern is about presuming that crew is in danger to switch off RRS 41 or 42.

We've just had a long thread about whether or not a crew separated from their boat is to be presumed to be in danger.

I think that crew on board a well found boat that is aground should presumed to not be in danger, unless there is evidence to the contrary.
Created: 25-Sep-05 00:18
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
John .. I understand where you are coming from, but we need to read the rules as written.

definition "Protest"
An allegation made under rule 60 by a boat or a committee that a boat has broken a rule. 

So, notifying a boat your intention to protest is notifying a boat that you intend to make "an allegation made under rule 60 by a boat or a committee that a [the] boat has broken a rule."
Created: 25-Sep-05 00:19
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Ang, I don't really want to go on with this, but if we're reading the rules as written, RRS 60.2 requires boats or committees to inform the protestee of their intention to protest her .... 'Protest' in that rule is not italicised:  it is not used in its defined sense.

I think a good starting point is RRS 60.2(a)(1) '... hail "Protest" ...', and we interpret that as requiring the word 'protest' to be included in any hail to achieve validity.

I stand by my contention that the dialogue informing a boat of the intention to protest, other than the hail of 'Protest' still needs to contain the word 'protest'.
Created: 25-Sep-05 00:26
P
Benjamin Harding
Nationality: Hong Kong
Hmm...

Safety and rules aside...

When I am racing, I want to win when my competitors are at their prime (sailing their best), not floundering on some mudbank. 

People are saying that when Boat A was helped off the mud, she gained an advantage. That's a little sad, isn't it?  What was her advantage...? That she wasn't left wallowing in the mud until nightfall? 

(In F1, if a car crashes, the bits get cleaned up and the driver sent to the pits to get the spare car. Not left by the side of the track, until the end of the race or expected to walk back to the pits. ) 

Its a sailing race people - designed to test and discover who is the best sailor. 

The test doesn't really work if boats are not actually sailing. 

Just because Boat A was not left to flounder (and sustain possible damage which might affect her later in the  competition) , I wouldn't say it was 'advantage'. 

The time she is on the mud bank is already a major 'disadvantage' to her sailing campaign. Helping her off simply inserts her back into the game after her self-inflicted yellow card. (The F1 spare car analogy) Not being further disadvantaged does not necessarily equate to being advantaged. 

Its a sad sport we have if we are readily accpet that the competition can be significantly sidelined rather than playing, just for a mistake in judgement. 
Created: 25-Sep-05 04:05
Tim O'Connor
No, I don’t agree with this at all. 

Sailing under the RRS is a competition within rules. We accept the duty to be bound by and enforce those rules as an unchangeable basic principle. It is *not* about “Win it on the water” or all the other things you hear far too frequently from those who neither know nor want to be bound by the rules. It is about competition within, bounded and shaped by the rules. 

If I capsize, I have sailed badly. I deserve to be passed. I do not get to pump, ooch and rock my way back up to where I was saying that’s my “prime”. If while leading by a long way I t-bone into the mud so badly I can’t get off, I’m a bloody idiot. I deserve the consequences and I do not get to ignore the rules by which I agreed to be bound - and of which I’d absolutely take advantage to my advantage- in order to get around those consequences. 

The rules are a system. We agree to be bound by all of them, when we sail, and if we take advantage of them when it suits we cannot try to get out of them when it doesn’t. And if that means losing a race because you slam into mud while leading by miles and you have to get towed off - maybe don’t be an idiot who drives into mud. 
Created: 25-Sep-05 07:06
P
Benjamin Harding
Nationality: Hong Kong
Great Tim. 

Did you, per chance see the second line of my post..? 

Safety and Rules aside... 

What are the rules and what I enforce might not be what I like about the sport. . 

Just as I don't like the way you can 'Walk' the best batter in baseball, or that 'The Tour de France' Cycling race allows team-tactics and outside assistance! 

Be careful not to mis-quote me either. I didn't suggest a boat can pump, rock and oocb to get back to where she was!  That would be absurd. 

Anyway, I did expect some resistance to what I suggested. Part of the fun! 

---
For OP, I'd say, no redress. Sorry. Too late. 


Created: 25-Sep-05 08:06
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 18654 - Benjamin Harding
When I am racing, I want to win when my competitors are at their prime (sailing their best), not floundering on some mudbank. 
Ben, I too have had issues with running aground (my crew are rolling their eyes saying .. 'uh .. yea .. you think?' LOL), but I had approached it from a different angle.  

The outside help issue aside for a moment, we are talking about an invisible obstruction.  Sure, sailboats could install forward and side-scanning sonar like the fishing-boats are outfitted with, but most of us are left with charts and a single-number depth readout of the depth at the keel.

Consider for a moment 2 boats, overlapped sailing along a sandy shoal.  The inside, keep-clear boat is calling for more room but the outside boat is looking at his chartplotter saying "there's plenty of room here".  Next the inside boat hits an area that had shoaled-in that isn't on the charts and gets stuck.

Sure, the inside boat can protest the outside boat ...
Sure, the outside boat can get DSQ'd... 

... but, if there is no damage to Inside, and then if that damage is not also part of the reason she doesn't finish or her finish-place is worsened, she can't receive redress.  The inside boat is toast for that race.

  • Why shouldn't a boat be exonerated for using their engine to get free, if they were grounded due to the actions of another boat who was penalized for breaking a rule (using the same verbage in 61.4(b)(2))? 
  • Why shouldn't a boat who was grounded, due to the actions of a boat penalized for breaking a rule, be eligible for redress? Why is this different from damage which directly effects a finish-place of a boat? (I actually submitted that one as a rules change to US Sailing years ago, but it was rejected and not forwarded to WS).

PS .. as an aside ... regarding chart accuracy .. 

As a high school senior in 1980, I actually worked in NOAA's Bathymetric Mapping Group in Rockville, MD.   Back then, all charts were drawn by hand in ink on velum using light tables.  They eventually gave me my own light table and trained me to draw the contour maps.  

Before that, my job there was going into the sounding-chart vaults and putting together and drawing graphical "catalogs" of which sounding-sheets were available to piece together a complete region .. it was like drawing a jigsaw puzzle (and the sounding sheets were of differing scales of course).  I would "project" the different sounding sheets onto a single piece of paper (magnifying/reducing each to match scale), masking off each region, until there was one piece of paper full of numbers for the new chart.

We'd put that single piece of paper on the light table, put a fresh piece of velum over it and start drawing in pencil. When that was done, a new piece of velum over the pencil-velum and we'd ink.

I can tell you, at least back in 1980, there were some "new" charts being drawn that had to rely upon data from the 1920's.  The cartographers would have to use whatever data was available to fill-in the voids in the more current sounding records.

That was a really cool experience.  I actually had some of the lines I drew by hand make it into a chart in Alaska!
Created: 25-Sep-05 10:24
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
John ". 'Protest' in that rule is not italicised:  it is not used in its defined sense."

Neither is it contained in single quotes which would indicate a specific word is required under the rules.  I think there could be some wiggle room here. 
Created: 25-Sep-05 09:58
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more