Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

RRS 20.1

Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
Two port-tack boats are sailing close-hauled toward the windward mark, outside the zone (so Rule 18 does not yet apply).

A starboard-tack boat is also sailing close-hauled on the opposite tack (the “stand-on” boat under Rule 10).

The inner port-tack boat wants to tack because she is on a collision course with the starboard-tack boat.

However, the inner boat only shouts “woi tack!” — and does not use the proper call “Room to tack for an obstruction” as required by Rule 20.1(a).

It's safety rule, what shall starboard boat do?
Created: Yesterday 23:13

Comments

Format:
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
There is no such thing as a 'safety rule'.  All of the RRS rules are equal.
 
RRS 14 requires S, when it is clear that PL is not keeping clear to avoid contact with PL if reasonably possible.

Bear in mind that, in this scenario, PL is exercising a choice under RRS 19.2(a):  she can always change her mind and bear away and pass astern of S, and accept her obligation to give PW room to pass between her and S under RRS 19.2(b)
Created: Today 00:21
Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
Reply to: 19289 - John Allan
Thanks John, but what I want to know, shall Stbd boat respond to the hail? 
Created: Today 01:46
Eric Meyn
The outer port tack boat is not blocking the inner port tack boat from tacking. And a boat is not an obstruction. The inner boat is also windward so the outer port boat has right of way there as well. The inner boat can tack or ease and slow down. 
Created: Today 01:08
John Ball
Nationality: Canada
The definition of Hail allows a local language.

From google translate - "Woi tack" is likely a phonetic spelling of the Chinese phrase "我去" (w qùw space q ù
𝑤 𝑞ù), which translates to "I'm going" or "I'm leaving" in English.
 It can express a variety of emotions, from excitement to frustration, and is often used as an exclamation or interjection

That does not sound like an acceptable translation for 'Room to Tack'. Is there a Chinese version of the RRS and what words does that specify for the hail?

Again google suggests the phrase "room to tack" can be translated to "空間\" (kōngjiān) for the general meaning of "room" or space. But knowing what is in the RRS would help?

John
Created: Today 02:08
Rob Overton
I agree with John Allen that rule 20 is just like all the other rules -- to the extent that the rules of Part 2 prevent boats colliding or hitting other objects, they are all "safety rules".  The rule about hailing for room to tack used to be called the "safety rule" a long time ago, but the rules writers realized that it was no such thing, and dropped that title.

Rule 14 specifically requires boats to avoid making contact or causing contact between other boats, so yes, the windward port-tack boat should tack or slow if it becomes clear that the leeward port-tack boat will collide with the starboard-tack boat if she doesn't tack.  But that has nothing to do with rule 20.  If the leeward boat doesn't hail properly for room to tack, rule 20 does not apply and the windward boat is not obligated to tack or respond in any way.  

My personal opinion is that rule 20 is far from being a safety rule, and in fact is the most dangerous rule in the RRS because it encourages boats to sail into danger and rely on a complicated set of hails and actions, possibly by multiple boats, to get her out of it.  Without rule 20, she would slow or otherwise provide for her own safety, as a prudent mariner should do.
Created: Today 02:11
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Rob ... sounds like you and John Christman had coffee. It's usually his job to throw RRS 20 under the bus. :-)
Created: Today 10:55
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Chin, Thanks John, but what I want to know, shall Stbd boat respond to the hail? 

No, S is not on the same tack as the hailing boat.  See RRS 20.1 first sentence.
Created: Today 02:13
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Eric, The outer port tack boat is not blocking the inner port tack boat from tacking.

PW might not be blocking PL from tacking, but that does not affect PL's entitlement to hail 'room to tack' under RRS 20.1.  If PL hails 'room to tack' PW must respond and if there is plenty of space for PL to do so, PW mar respond 'you tack' and do nothing else.

 And a boat is not an obstruction.

Absolutely a starboard tack right of way boat is an obstruction to a port tack give way boat, with the usual Optimist v Commanche exception.

Obstruction An obstruction is
(a)
an object that a boat could not pass without changing course
substantially, if she were sailing directly towards it and one of her
hull lengths from it;

(b) an object that can be safely passed on only one side; or
(c) an object, area or line that is so designated in a rule;
However, a boat racing is not an obstruction to other boats
unless they
are required to keep clear of her
or, if rule 22 applies, avoid her.

 The inner boat is also windward so the outer port boat has right of way there as well.

PL Is the inner boat.  She is to leeward of PW.  Unles  PL is clear astern of PW, she is ROW, RRs 11 or 12.

 The inner boat can tack or ease and slow down. 

Certainly she can, but that doesn't affect her RRS 20 entitlements.
Created: Today 02:51
Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
Reply to: 19295 - John Allan
Good discussion, thanks all for your contributions
Created: Today 03:10
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Chin, did you intend th 'woi tack' hail to be in Chinese language?

I'm betting that the Bhasa Melayu version of RRS 20.1 does have those words <g>.
Created: Today 03:22
Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
Reply to: 19297 - John Allan
Yes it's Bahasa Melayu (Malaysia). But Sometimes in English also beginer sailors can say "please tack" instead of "room to tack".. 
Created: Today 03:35
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Chin,  Does the Malaysia Sailing Association publish a version of the RRS in Bhasa Melayu?

If so, what are the words shown in quotes in RRS 20.1?

In the 2025 RRS using exactly the right words is important.
Created: Today 03:39
Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
Reply to: 19299 - John Allan
Negative.. We use the English version only... 
Created: Today 04:17
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
OK, how do you go with jury policies about RRS Introduction - Hails

 Hails A language other than English may be used for a hail required by the rules provided that it is reasonable for it to be understood by all boats affected. However, a hail in English is always acceptable.

And fitting that with RRS 20.1?
Created: Today 04:22
Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
Reply to: 19301 - John Allan
We will accepted only what wrote in the rule book, especially the term.. But in protest hearing, sailors allow to write in malay, I will translate to english for non Malaysian judges... 
Created: Today 05:26
P
Michael Butterfield
This is very difficult, and I am not sure the question asked has been answered.
To me if all boats use the local language and understand it, nothing has to be done to make a hail in that language acceptable.
There will always be a translation problem, as " room to tack" is strange wording.

So I believe the windward boat was required to respond to the hail.

This a bit like current UK law gived a two tier system, if you are in events where the competitors do not use the same language, " room to tack" is all that can be used.
In an event where all competitors use another language, something in that language, that may mean the same is now acceptable.

A strict rule if in English, but like the old rule for other language only regattas.
Created: Today 09:26
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
I don't think it is all that difficult.

If the MNA publishes RRS in the national language then the words in the national language version of RRS 20.1 OR 'room to tack' must be used.

If the MNA does not publish RRS in the national language, then it is up to the jury to establish a jury policy stating what words, other than 'room to tack' shall be used.

The change Inserting  '"room to tack"' into RRS 20.1 make  it clear that exact specified words must be used.
Created: Today 10:49
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
I don't agree with Rob that RRS 20 is necessarily a dangerous rule.

A boat exercising either prudent seamanship or sound tactics will initially hail in sufficient time to repeat the hail, or have it passed on if necessary, before she 'sails into danger'.
Created: Today 11:00
Iuan Gray
Nationality: South Africa
100
Tips
IMHO.

SCENARIO
NB: Other variables such as the relative positions, actual distance between the boats, their relative speeds etc could impact this.

Screenshot 2025-10-13 121159.png 21.2 KB


As we're outside the zone, the mark is irrelevant, so the terms inner and outer become relative to the obstruction.

BOAT IDENTIFIERS USED
GREEN: Stbd, and an Obstruction  - SOb
YELLOW: Port, Windward, Outer (relative to SO, the obstruction)  - PWO
BLUE: Port, leeward, Inner, (relative to SOb, the obstruction)  - PLI

OBLIGATIONS
All boats are required to avoid/and avoid causing contact (RRS 14).
SOb must hold her course (RRS 16).
PLI and PWO must both keep clear of SOb (RRS 10).
PLI must "choose" how she intends to avoid SOb early enough for PWO to keep clear of her RRS 19.2(a).
PWO must Keep Clear of PLI (RRS 11).
PWO must give PLI room to keep clear of SOb RRS 19.2(b).


YOUR ACTUAL QUESTION - WHAT SHOULD SOb DO?

  • No rule requires SOb to respond in any way to the call. So, leave PLI and PWO to resolve the issue of the RRS 20 call between themselves at any hearing.
  • SOb should hold her course (RRS 16).
  • If it becomes clear that PLI and/or PWO is not keeping clear, then SOb should (tack/duck/slow down) and protest whichever boat/s caused her to do so.
Created: Today 11:35
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more