Forum: Race Committee & Race Management

How long is the race committee allowed to change the position of the first windward mark?

Christian Hartmann
100
Tips
27.2 
states that no later than the preparatory signal, the race committee may move a starting mark. 

Rule 33
"CHANGING THE NEXT LEG OF THE COURSE" 
allows the race committee to change a leg of the course that begins at a rounding mark or at a gate while boats are racing. This is done by changing the position of the next mark (or the finishing line) and signaling all boats before they begin the leg. The next mark does not need to be in position at that time. 

It is clear that Rule 27.2 only applies to starting marks, and Rule 33 does not include the starting line as the beginning of the next leg. Additionally, starting marks are, in my opinion, not considered rounding marks. 

This leads to my questions:

How long is the race committee allowed to change the position of the first windward mark?

Which rule in the racing rules supports the correct answer?

many thx
Created: Wed 19:30

Comments

Format:
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
Christian, by "changing the position", do you mean
  1. adjust the location of the mark such that it is in the location notated on the course board?
  2. or change to a new heading and distance different from what's notated on the course board?
Created: Wed 20:20
Christian Hartmann
sorry for late answering . European time zone here. Actually Germany

2. we tried to rotate the whole course by -20 degrees due to the change of the wind direction. Moved the pin end back (to lee) first and tried to adjust the first mark by 200 m or so accordingly
Created: Yesterday 06:22
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
50
Tips
To me Christian, if you can do this before the start (before the Prep signal I guess) then it's good. Otherwise, cancel the start and make the adjustment before re-starting. See my comment at the bottom about mid-leg course shifts.
Created: Yesterday 14:36
Craig Priniski
Starting line is a gate (after the signal at least!) So marks on the line until the prep, first mark until the start, but that's pushing it a bit if the drop goes wrong etc, 
Created: Wed 20:20
Sue Reilly
Craig - first mark until the start is a preference for some but not a rule.  In big classes, with shifty conditions,  I don't set the top mark until I get a clean start off.
Created: Wed 20:34
Craig Priniski
Reply to: 19438 - Sue Reilly
I don't see where you can drop a mark during a leg in the rules 
Created: Wed 22:12
Andreas Knospe
Rule 30.3 and 30.4 need a triangle in the last minute before the starting signal therefore you need a nonmoving mark one. Otherwise boats need a fixed mark 1 when it’s importend for tacktics desiscions. For example in star class you have sometimes a distance from start to M1  over 2 nm. So it‘s up to you as the RO to decide when it’s importend. 
Created: Wed 20:53
Christian Hartmann
Reply to: 19439 - Andreas Knospe
sorry for late answering . European time zone here. Actually Germany
just the usual Papa flag
Created: Yesterday 06:24
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
We had this discussion at a NRO seminar about 'trimming up' a gate.

RRS 34 also provides that if a mark is out of position while boats are racing, the race committee shall, if possible ... move it to its correct position ...

I take Andreas' point about Blac Flag and U Flag requiring a mark to be present (?in the water?), but otherwise, if the mark is out of position, say, still aboard a mark vessel, the race committee shall move it to its correct position, obviously, as soon as possible.

This approach relies on the SI telling us what the proper position of the mark is, that is 'windward' etc.
Created: Wed 21:03
Christian Hartmann
Reply to: 19440 - John Allan
unfortunately, available only in german language:  https://www.manage2sail.com/de-DE/event/DBYCGOI142025#!/onb?tab=documents&classId=DBYCGOI142025
Created: Yesterday 06:31
Tim Noble
Rule 27.2 refers to a Start Mark.  Once a boat crosses the start line they are on Leg 1.  To more the Windward Mark #1, Rule 33 applies which states, "While boats are racing, the race committee may change a leg of the course that begins at a rounding mark or at a gate by changing the position of the next mark and signalling all boats before they begin the leg".  Since leg 1 has begun (and boats are already racing) as soon as the first boat properly crosses the start line, they can no longer move Mark #1 unless they are signalling a change of course at the time the boats start.  If they are not signalling then they can't change Mark #1 - it needs to be in place.  Or am I missing something?
Created: Wed 21:05
Sue Reilly
Reply to: 19441 - Tim Noble
They are not moving the first mark - they are setting it in the place that they told the racers it would be.  Nothing wrong with that.  You just have to be confident with your mark boat.  
Created: Wed 21:14
Christian Hartmann
Reply to: 19441 - Tim Noble
we moved mark 1 by ~200 m to the left. didn't chaged the course scheme. adjusted starting line according to RR and SI and after tha mark 1 within the last five minute before the start. (more precise: between 180 and 120 seconds to go, mark 1 was in the new place)
Created: Yesterday 06:35
Nick Hutton
This all assumes we are in a laid course in one of the usual configurations - trap, w/l etc - but in Keelboat raining a mark boat often leaves the starting area at the same time as the competing boats, to lay a mark many miles away and often not in a straight line, but following a coastline, waterway or river. Hence no rule in RRS as this would often be impractical and of no real use anyway. The RRS cover many and varied situations. 
Created: Wed 21:25
Matt Bounds
Nationality: United States
50
Tips
Peter Reggio (Luigi) once asked at an Advanced Race Management Seminar in 2016, "When does the windward mark need to be set?" The answers from the students ran the gamut from before the prep signal to at the start.

The answer he was looking for was, "When they (the competitors) need it."

I've seen several instances with IROs (looking at you, PVM) having the windward mark visible in close proximity to it's final position, but not set at the start - usually to tweak a target time, not so much a bearing.

The issue with 30.3 and 30.4 ("requiring" a fixed weather mark) is non issue. Given a 0.3 nm starting line and a 1.5 nm first leg, the interior angle of the triangle is 84.3°. Changing the distance has a minimal effect on that (extending to 2.0 nm changes it to 85.7°). Changing the angle has about a 1:1 ratio on the interior angle (using the original dimensions (5° move to one side causes the interior angle to change approximately +5° on one side and -5° on the other).

I always ask myself the "Redress Question." I ask myself, "Is this likely to involve me being in a redress hearing?" If the probability is low, then I'm more inclined to do it.

Truly, the bottom line is what are you trying to accomplish? Hit a specific target time? Have a perfectly square course? It should all relate to the competitor experience - the question to ask yourself is, "Is what I'm doing making the race better for the competitors - and by how much?"  High-risk actions for minimal improvement is rarely a good thing. 
Created: Wed 21:58
Christian Hartmann
very nice points here!  will take that with me ...
Created: Yesterday 06:41
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
Well now, under rule 33 moving the windward mark while the racers are on the first leg is, I submit, clearly an improper action. However if a competitor wished to claim redress they also have to demonstrate that her score or place in a race or series [was] made, or may be made, significantly worse through no fault of her own. I suggest in many, even most circumstances where even a semi competent race team found a need to move a windward mark they would struggle to demonstrate that.

And I completely agree with Matt's last paragraph.
Created: Wed 21:59
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Craig, the RRS (and WS Cases) are an open rule set.

I don't see where it says you can't.
Created: Wed 22:22
Craig Priniski
Reply to: 19447 - John Allan
A mark is either a Starting mark, or a mark bounding the end of a leg, there is no reason to think of the first mark as some special case, it IS covered, and not permitted. 
Created: Yesterday 00:22
Al Sargent
Nationality: United States
A competitor's perspective: In the recent ILCA Masters Worlds, a competitor (not me) tacked onto the starboard layline, a few dozen boatlengths from the windward mark. Then they saw the windward mark, a MarkSetBot, start moving to the right. Not a good thing from a fairness perspective, and not allowed under Rule 33.

But, per SI 11.2 (https://onb.ilca.roms.ar/ilca6ilca7masters2025/images/onbdocs/SAILING_INSTRUCTIONS_Amendment_5.pdf) the race committee could change the windward mark position +/- 10 degrees, at any time. This seems like a poorly written sailing instruction, since it opens the door for abuse.
Created: Wed 22:38
P
John D. Farris
Nationality: United States
50
Tips
Reply to: 19448 - Al Sargent
Al, what do you think about this rewritten SI 11.2:

The Race Committee may change the position of Mark 1 (the windward mark) by up to ±10° of the original bearing only if a persistent wind‑direction shift of 10° or more is measured (or expected) and is assessed to give a consistent advantage to one side of the course.

This sets a clear threshold rather than “at any time”. 
Created: Wed 22:51
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
50
Tips
Reply to: 19448 - Al Sargent
John, Complicated, facts hard to prove if it came to a redress, and it doesn't solve Al's tactical problem of the mark shifting right under his nose.

How bad would that be if you had boats in the zone and the mark started dancing around?
Created: Wed 22:59
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
Reply to: 19448 - Al Sargent
That's pretty worrying. I have no experience of robotic marks, but I know how much my GPS position dances about when I have a recording on my boat. The whole of RRS18 depends on the mark being pretty much in a fixed position, give or take wave action. The implications of a mark moving and forcing boats previously on or beyond the layline to tack in the zone are pretty scary.
Created: Wed 23:22
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19448 - Al Sargent
I agree with Al, Jim, and other's concern with an intentional mark-movement like this late in the leg.

Only time I experienced something like this with a robo-mark, it was because a boat had dragged the mark some distance (spinnaker up, though not sure what they caught on, since no anchor line). With a standard mark, you would either see the anchor stretch, OR you would have the mark remain where it was after dragging the anchor, so that was frustrating for the back of the fleet even though it wasn't an (intentional) RC error, and just an artifact of the robo mark returning to it's "spot".
Created: Yesterday 14:21
P
John D. Farris
Nationality: United States
50
Tips
Here's my second try at SI 11.2 -

11.2 – Change of Position of the Windward Mark (Mark 1).

The Race Committee may change the position of Mark 1 by no more than ±10° from its original bearing to maintain a fair first leg when a persistent wind shift of 10° or more has occurred. Any such change must be made and completed before the first boat has sailed more than 25% of the distance to Mark 1, based on the original course bearing. After that point, no further repositioning shall occur, except to replace a missing mark under RRS 34. 
The change shall be signaled by displaying flag C with repetitive sound signals from the Race Committee signal vessel or a designated mark boat stationed along the first leg, and, if possible, broadcast on VHF Channel ???. This changes RRS 33.

For context:
We recently ran the VX One North American Championship using a fully digital race management system. The entire operation — starting sequences, mark movements, course changes, tracking, and finishes — was handled by RaceSense and MarkSetBots, all controlled from a single signal boat. Apart from that, we had just one safety boat and a media boat on the course — and that was the full on-water team.



Created: Wed 23:23
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
50
Tips
Jim C re: "That's pretty worrying. I have no experience of robotic marks,"

This same concept came up in the orange-flag discussion. With a drop-mark ... you can see the mark-boat grab it and drag it.   With these mark-bots ... you have no visual indication that they are moving or have moved.  

Sure .... in the rare instance we'd have a mark drag a bit ... but I don't think the RRS and SI templates have kept up with adding required visual cues for setting-or and moving-of mark-bots. 

I think we need some set-signals that we start standardizing on ... be it a windward mark-bot or a starting-pin markbot. 
Created: Yesterday 00:13
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
I had this vision of 40 or 50 boats, leader on the lay line, rest stacked up to windward as they do, and suddenly the mark shifts 20 feet, and the first few have to tack in the zone and the rest are still on the lay line... I suppose, thinking rationally, it's no worse than a 10degree shift at the wrong moment, but it really gave me the shivers... Much bigger deal than a start line it seems to me. 

It's an obvious enough option, so I imagine you discussed it in the other topic, but maybe the markbot needs to have a flashing light or something when it thinks it's not on station. Do they use differential GPS? Without it I imagine the thing will do a lot of jogging around. 
Created: Yesterday 03:28
Craig Priniski
There are Rule 27 Marks (starting marks) and Rule 33 marks, those marking the end of a leg, including a finish which would also be under Rule 33 unless you shorten the course.  What is implied is that niether rule covers the first mark? That doesn't make any sense. There would be no limit at all in that case as to when you could be movign the mark.  Instead you would be mis-applying Rule 34, for Missing Marks.  To be missing or out of place, it would have been in place in the first place (errors and omissions).  Nothing in the rules obsolves the RC from rules constraining when a mark may be moved. 
As described above, if you wanrt to do something after the start it would have to be addressed in the SIs as is done in the mark bot case.  You could write an SI such that the "windward mark will be placed .7 NM on the average wind axis." Then you have descibed where the mark would be.
See Case 32 - "A competitor is entitled to look exclusively to the notice of race or to written sailing instructions for all details relating to sailing the course"  
Created: Yesterday 00:38
Al Sargent
Nationality: United States
John, thank you for taking a second stab at SI 11.2, and for sharing your experience with the VX One North American Championship.

A few comments from an ILCA saillor's perspective:

The Race Committee may change the position of Mark 1 by no more than ±10° from its original bearing >> Seems good, since the marks won't be too out of position. It's often not easy to spot the marks when they're 0.7 or 1.0 miles away.

to maintain a fair first leg >> Good to mention the spirit of the SI.

when a persistent wind shift of 10° or more has occurred. >> I'd leave this out, since the definition of a persistent shift is hazy at best. Case in point: at the ILCA Masters Worlds in Formia, Italy, the wind shifts were stochastic: they would oscillate predictably for a while, and then suddenly shift hard right or left 25 degrees. Then go back to oscillating off this new baseline. It was hard to establish a pattern.

Any such change must be made and completed before the first boat has sailed more than 25% of the distance to Mark 1, based on the original course bearing. >> This is the crux of the question: should it be 0% (i.e., as stated by RRS 33), 25%, or something else. Also, how to reliably measure that distance and determine which boat is first seems hard.

After that point, no further repositioning shall occur, except to replace a missing mark under RRS 34. >> Seems fine.

The change shall be signaled by displaying flag C with repetitive sound signals from the Race Committee signal vessel or a designated mark boat stationed along the first leg, and, if possible, broadcast on VHF Channel ???. This changes RRS 33. >> Seems fine.


Created: Yesterday 01:45
P
Roger Wilson
I too support fully support Matt's comments. Our job is to give the competitors a safe, challenging racecourse with as much choice as possible. it is really important to be predictable and the competitors to know what you are likely to do and trust you. 

I too use RaceSence and Autonomous Marks a lot and think they are both great. I always post the "Race Management Guidelines" on the ONB where I describe how I will run the racing. If they competitors are required to have VHF I tell them the bearing and distance to Mark 1 just after the prep signal. If using boards I will post it after displaying the Orange flag if I have a big fleet and by the Warning Signal if a small fleet so they have time to see it. I don't lay marks until the start in deep water. If there is a big wind shift before the start I AP and change the boards/radio.
The SI I use use is:
9.2 The autonomous marks will go back to their original positions if they
are dragged or otherwise moved off station. Routine movement of autonomous marks will not be
grounds for redress. This includes minor readjustments and marks returning to station after
having been pushed or dragged away by a competitor. RRS 31 continues to apply.
RS21 Worlds 25 RM Guidelines v1.pdf 36.2 KB
Created: Yesterday 07:37
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Roger W ... can you explain the part about rule 2 if a boat is over the line but RaceSense says it's not?

I've have been objecting to the standard "no redress" language that seems to be commonly used with RaceSense.

Combining that std language with what you have above, if RaceSense says you are over ... but you are "significantly behind" the line ... tough luck on you ... no redress avenue. With the above, if you are over and it says you are not, you are still responsible for sighting the line. 

This scenario happened to me the first time I used RS as a competitor during a "test start" before the first race. I was clearly over the line but RS was telling me I was behind. I could tell this because I just so happened to be closest to the pin.  Had I been in the middle of the line if a large fleet of 10m boats ... I would never have realized it. 
Created: Yesterday 09:47
P
Roger Wilson
50
Tips
I have had a couple of problems with RaceSense in the past. 
1. I had boats who suddenly "went dark" 10 seconds before the start and went live again 10 seconds afterwards. Some were judged OCS by the line officers. I was told by other competitors that they put a bag over the device in their boat, probably a faraday cage. 
2. I had boats that consistently "stuck out" on the start line by a couple of meters at the start but did not go dark nor showed as OCS although the Line Officer called them OCS (but the SIs say we can not score them OCS). The other competitors told me that they have two vakaros devices, they put the one registered with the Race Committee in the helm's pocket, and have an unregistered one on the mast fitting. 
3. I had problems a couple of years ago with boats being called OCS by RaceSense when the Line Officers said they were significantly behind the line. Checking their Vakaros device, it was set up as a TP52, not an RS21!! RaceSense now allows the race officer to set the type of boat for all competitors and make it unchangeable. I have not had that problem since. 

Interestingly at the 2025 RS21 Worlds where we had 49 boats, over half professional sailors, (where I used those guidelines) we had no discrepancies between the line officers and the RaceSense on either the start or the finish. 


Created: Yesterday 10:06
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Luckily in my case it was a practice start.  A Vakaros rep was on the RC and had a spare to swap out with me. 
Created: Yesterday 12:23
P
Peter van Muyden
Nationality: Canada
Reply to: 19468 - Roger Wilson
Formia, Italy
A few points.

I recall someone stating that the first mark needs to be anchored before the boats reach the lay line. This is a chicken-and-egg issue, since the lay line cannot be defined until the mark is in position.

When RRS 30.3 or 30.4 are in effect it is preferable for the first mark to be in position one minute before the starting signal. However, a boat would have a difficult time convincing a protest committee that it did not break RRS 30.3 or 30.4 if any part of its hull was above the start line in the last minute before the starting signal when the first mark was not in position. There are a few geometry exceptions, most of the time as long as the first mark was on the course side of the start line the boat would have broken RRS 30.3 or 30.4.

Robotic mark are here to stay and sailors need to get used to that.  Yes, robotic marks move and go back to their original location when pushed out of position by a boat, but the same is true in some cases with traditional marks.  If a keelboat snags a mark with a long anchor line but does not drag the anchor, the mark will move back to its original position. 

It should be noted that the 2025 ILCA Master Worlds in Formia used Effetto Venturi Gipsy marks and not MarkSetBots marks.
Created: Yesterday 13:50
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
50
Tips
I don't understand from a geometric/fairness perspective why an RC would look to change the course after an early-leg shift. I think this would only serve to exacerbate and/or set in stone the advantage gained by those who got to that shift first:
  1. if the wind stays on that new shift, then the ladder rungs are already re-drawn, and as long as no one is over-stood yet, those towards the shift will have gained the same amount wherever the mark is.
  2. if the wind shifts back, moving the mark will have forced those who lost initially to leave their chosen side earlier, and will rob them of a chance to gain from that second oscillation.
If you leave the mark as-is, there's some chance for "redemption" whereas if you move it, you've locked those gains in for the "winners" of the first shift.

That's all in addition to the chance for confusion from moving and signalling. The test of skill is to go around the mark as set. If it's totally unfair, moving the mark won't make it more fair, and has a chance to make it less fair. Restart the race if it's not a good test of skill, and adjust the next leg instead.
Created: Yesterday 14:35
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
And I should add that a small adjustment to align with the posted heading/distance is fine with me, so long as it's before boats need to make a layline call. It's OK if you haven't dropped the mark yet at "go", just that it ends up in the announced place in plenty of time for fair racing.
Created: Yesterday 15:08
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
50
Tips
Niko ... I agree.  The windward mark should not be altered in direction after the prep signal or after its direction is posted.    Boats should be able to rely upon its heading from the startling line to determine their tactics and strategy. 
Created: Yesterday 14:48
Al Sargent
Nationality: United States
Competitor's perspective here... Angelo, I agree fully. Good sailors will get the bearing of the windward mark for the following reasons:

1. Determine which is the longest tack off the starting line. For instance, if the median wind direction is 270, and the mark bearing is 280, then (all else equal, in oscillating conditions) you should plan to get onto port tack soon after the start, in order to sail the long tack (port) first and preserve your options.

2. Plan your likely downwind strategy. In the above example, in a sloop, you'll want to sail the long jibe (starboard) first, and plan on a bearaway spinnaker set being most likely (subject to wind shifts). In a Laser in less than 9 knots, you'll want to jibe to get onto the faster by the lee port jibe (putting wave skew aside).

3. Determine how to find the leeward mark or gate if big waves, by taking the reciprocal of the windward mark heading, and using that as your median heading (modulo any heading changes for puffs and/or waves).

All that planning is the mark of a well-prepared boat, and it goes out the window if the windward mark is moved.
Created: Yesterday 22:53
Sue Reilly
50
Tips
There is nothing in the rules that says when the rounding marks need to be set unlike the start mark(s). Waiting until after the boats have started is perfectly acceptable.  Depending on how the course is signaled is where it needs to be set.  That part of the equation is not changeable.  


This is what I use for change of course after the start:

The position of the marks may be adjusted slightly for small shifts in the mean wind (+/-5 degrees) without signaling a change of course. Any adjustments will be made before the first boat is on the leg to the adjusted mark. This changes RRS 33.
Created: Yesterday 15:19
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more