Suppose you have a finish line, and the prior mark is on the opposite side of some land.
If the land is ignored, the direction to cross the line would be North to South, BUT the land alters the direction a boat must sail, so the natural crossing would be South to North.
My view is that the latter is the correct way to finish, but I am being challenged on this and would welcome your views.
EDIT UPDATE. Of course, as soon as I posted this I finally read the revised case 145 which states in part "the imaginary string is only influenced, constrained or ‘caught’ by the marks that begin, bound or end each leg of the course established and described by the race committee. Islands, headlands, shallow water or other non-navigable water do not influence, constrain or ‘catch’ the taut string."
That seems to close the question, so now we get to the question of how to fix this (to my view) inane ruling. Sailing instructions should perhaps state "A boat shall not sail over land on any leg of the course". The problem would plague not only a finish line question but also creating a need to circle some marks where the "string" has been moved away from the course.
Here are two alternate views of the same course from mark RBAY to the finish.
If, I suppose, you set the mark on a north-south line, it would not matter. But that is not the point of the inquiry. The real issue I had was whether to ignore the land. Stupid case 145 stupidly says yes, ignore land.
https://www.racingrulesofsailing.org/cases/2177
I don't see where any of the proposed changes to case 145 for 25-28 have been accepted.
Update. This racingrulesofsailing.org does not reflect that 145 had been withdrawn. I see references to the withdrawal, but the case book on the world sailing site still lists it.
Sheesh.
Imagine that the finish line is set exactly parallel (points at) to the direction of the last mark (I know it says course now but bear with me….)
There is nothing to indicate whether you Shapiro’s pass through it from roughly north to south or roughly south to north.
Logically it would be south to north once you rounded the headland.
But imagine that the tide had swept competitors north…..
I can’t see how a north to south finish could be considered invalid in these circumstances.
The case just says for the definition of "sail the course" the taught string is only constrained by the marks; it is not impacted by areas that are not navigable. However, the case specifically points out that a boat can not sail across land.
I would argue that the string rule and course side are two separate tests.