Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

A keen volunteer with a conflict of interest

P
Benjamin Harding
Nationality: Hong Kong
200
Tips
Here's a sample case.

*Facts*

At a youth event, a parent volunteer assigned to the launch (sign-in/sign-out) area witnesses a competitor in the same class as their child removing their PFD a few hundred metres from the slipway as they return after a hot day's sailing.  (The SIs require PFDs to be worn at all times while afloat.)

The parent volunteer (having recently read the RRS Introduction and RRS 60.1) eagerly enters the online hearing request form and, within the time limit, submits a protest against that competitor, marking the request as a 'Race Committee Protest'.  The online system automatically posts the protest on the Official Notice Board.

If the competitor is penalised, the volunteer's own child will gain an important place in the competition.

*Questions*

1.  Is the protest valid?
a) Is the parent volunteer a member of the race committee?
b) Does the restriction of RRS 60.4(b)(3) apply?

2.  What should the protest committee consider / How should the protest committee handle the case?

3.  Has the parent volunteer acted incorrectly in any way?
Created: 25-Dec-09 11:09

Comments

Format:
P
Roger Wilson
Hi,

My view (been there!) is that the protest is invalid under RRS 60.4(b)(3).

In the past I have put a warning on the event messaging system / Notice to Competitors that the behaviour is unacceptable and I will get the PC to check that the behaviour is not repeated.


Created: 25-Dec-09 11:43
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
I'll take a whack (nice one Ben!)

  1. Is the parent a member of the RC?
    1. Yes, Introduction: RC. They are performing an RC function IMO. 
  2. Does  60.4(b)(3) apply?
    1. Here is the rub. I've always read that restriction as pertaining to a "person" outside of the RC itself coming to the RC with a "report". 
      1. I can see now that my interpretation above is not clear as 60.4(b)(3) is written. 
    2. The check-in/out record the parent was keeping of kids and their PFD's, this would be an "RC Record" and not a "report".
    3. That said, the way 60.4(b)(3) is written is not clear at all. 
  3. Is it valid?
    1. I would say "yes"
  4. How would PC proceed?
    1. I would contact the PRO and make sure they are aware that the RC has filed a protest. It may have been against their internal policy for individual RC members to protest boats (without going through the PRO first). 
    2. If the PRO wants to proceed with the protest; I'd proceed normally (otherwise allow it to be withdrawn by the PRO if requested). 
  5. Did the parent act incorrectly?
    1. Depends upon the policy established by the PRO on who/when/how RC protests are generated. 
Created: 25-Dec-09 11:52
P
Michael Butterfield
I see this as a report by a racecomittee member on behalf of the committee. To me this is not a "person" who i see as someone outside the committee. 

I believe the protest should proceed. 

It is not our fault "race committee" is defined so widley, and we suffer from it when competitors speak to check in of safety boats and they say or do something. 
Created: 25-Dec-09 12:19
Alan Keen
Angelo,
Your points 1.1 and 3.
There is no doubt that the parent is a member of the RC, but I don't think that this single person is the Committee who is able to submit a protest under 60.1. So I would say No, invalid.
Created: 25-Dec-09 12:24
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19777 - Alan Keen
Alan ... Eventually a person has to submit (until AI takes over).  RC is defined in Introduction as anyone doing an RC function. 
Created: 25-Dec-09 12:32
Alan Keen
Reply to: 19777 - Alan Keen
The introduction specifies who makes up the Race Committee. I don't understand it to mean that each single person is a committee. A dictionary definition and the common meaning of "committee" is "a group of people appointed for a specific function..." So until the committee (decides to ) submits a protest (and it could decide to appoint a single person to make that decision and submit), I would not consider this a valid protest. I think you are saying something similar in your point 4.
Created: 25-Dec-09 13:11
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19777 - Alan Keen
Alan .. here is the Introduction entry ...

Race committee         
The race committee appointed under rule 89.2(c) and any other person or committee performing a race committee function.

That deconstructs to ...

"Race Committee: .. any other person performing a race committee function.  

The RC can be "any other person" ... "person" being singular. 
Created: 25-Dec-09 13:55
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Reply to: 19777 - Alan Keen
An individual, with the possible exception of the RO, cannot unilaterally take it upon themselves to act as agent for the race committee, unless the committee endorses or adopts that action.

I wouldn't be disturbed by an enthusiastic parent overstepping the mark, but if I saw a protest that wasn't authorised by someone I knew was authoritative on the race committee, I'd ask the race committee if it was a race committee protest, (and who their representative was going to be.).

The parent is a Support Person and has a conflict of interest.

The protest,  even if endorsed by the race committee, is invalid because it is based on a report from a person with a conflict of interest.

However the protest committee may have no reason to be aware of the conflict of interest, and possibly neither is the race committee.  The rules, very sensibly,  do not require members of the race committee to be free of conflicts of interest and only members of the protest committee are required to declare conflict of interest in a hearing.

I would not normally enquire of a representative or witness of a committee that was protesting whether the had a conflict of interest.

If no evidence of a conflict of interest is brought before the protest committee they are likely to conclude that the protest is valid and continue to hear and decide it.

If the protest committee concludes that the protest is invalid it can still proceed under RRS 69.
Created: 25-Dec-09 15:21
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19777 - Alan Keen
John A re: "An individual, with the possible exception of the RO, cannot unilaterally take it upon themselves to act as agent for the race committee, unless the committee endorses or adopts that action."

As you have so often stated, the RRS is an open rules set.  Where in the RRS do you find the above restriction?
Created: 25-Dec-09 15:55
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
If I were the RC leader I would be disturbed by a volunteer submitting a protest without agreement from the RC heirarchy. Clearly this is not really an RC protest. So I would seriously consider withdrawing the protest unless the RC as a whole considered it desirable. But this is internal RC admin, not RRS. Presumably as an RC protest it need not, maybe ought not be led by the volunteer, so it would be easy to cancel. I might, indeed, as RC chair, consider that a withdrawn protest was quite enough to make the point. So I think Angelo's 4.1 and 4.2 are crucial.
Created: 25-Dec-09 12:39
Ric Crabbe
Nationality: United States
50
Tips
As a parent who does volunteer work like launching or checking in/out boats all the time, I would absolutely not consider myself a part of the RC.  The criterion I would use is, would I enter this into my SOARS? (The US Sailing RC/PC activity tracker) I’m no different from the parent that provides snacks for the coach boat. From another perspective, if I were PRO, would I consider some random parent part of my team? Probably not
Created: 25-Dec-09 12:48
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
Reply to: 19780 - Ric Crabbe
Ric, its a bit gray. If there's a release/tally system under which competitors can be penalised for breaking then whoever runs it and reports breaches to the RC is surely a part of the RC. A parent who helps launch a few boats is clearly not RC, but in this case the parent was 'assigned', so I think they are acting as part of the RC. After all such roles are normally performed by volunteers who will often be parents.
Created: 25-Dec-09 13:03
P
Benjamin Harding
Nationality: Hong Kong
Reply to: 19780 - Ric Crabbe
Ric, at some clubs, events are heavily populated in all RC areas by (parent) volunteers.  Mark-layers, finish boat record keepers, committee boat time keepers, safety boat rib drivers are all RC functions.  Our sport relies on parents to sometimes take on clear race committee functions.  I don't think we can discount them as being part of the RC.  At least the Introduction includes volunteers as RC if they are performing an RC function.

My question is posed such that the questions and issues apply too any parent volunteer in any of those race committee functions.


Created: 25-Dec-09 13:11
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19780 - Ric Crabbe
l RC areas by (parent) volunteers. Mark-layers, finish boat record keepers, committee boat time keepers, safety boat rib drivers are all RC functions. Our sport relies on parents to sometimes take on clear race committee functions. I don't think w...
I agree with Ric here. 90.1 says that the Race Committee's job is to conduct races as directed by the organizing authority. The volunteer parent has (most likely) been assigned to their post by the OA, and not by the RC/PRO. There is almost certainly a list of RC members that would not include the parent.

However, to respond with Ben Harding's comment that if this were a parent on a mark-boat instead in mind, then I think I agree with Ang's points above. I will add that while this protest may appear petty to some, if it were a valid protest, and brought facts to light, then I feel strongly that a violation of safety rules (by a minor) may in fact be more important than a violation of the rules of sportsmanship or fair sailing. There is no room for a minor to interpret the "unwritten intent" of a safety rule as someone suggested.

Lastly, when hearing this protest (after validity), I would take specific note of the conflicts of interest when hearing testimony and determining facts found. For this reason, the parent would have done well to involve others both at time of sighting and at time of filing if their goal is to hold the competitor to task here.
Created: 25-Dec-09 17:46
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19780 - Ric Crabbe
Niko ... I think if this parent was at the event check-in desk ... doing entry duty ... then I think that is more likely an OA function.  However, being part of the daily safety operations for the event ... those logs are going to the RC/scorer to determine who is DNC as well as the safety-job it entails. So I think as described it's squarely part of the RC. 

Doc .. agree .. this would usually seem to be something as a DP or SP in the SI's (but that was not part of Ben's OP scenario). 
Created: 25-Dec-09 18:23
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19780 - Ric Crabbe
Ang, I hear you on daily safety / check-in, and I'm not a certified RO -- which could be why I've got this wrong. For the kids' regatta (singular) that I've PRO'd three times, check-in/out was done on-water, and I always felt that's where my purview ended, so this is a circumstance I'm not familiar with. It's pretty tough to require the PRO to be in charge of adults who never go on-water.

That said, I think the problem is addressable even if the protest is valid. I've already mentioned the things I'd be careful to take into consideration at that point.
Created: 25-Dec-09 18:55
Paul Baehr
Nationality: Canada
1. A protest  has been “submitted”. Just because it was in the time limit does not make it “valid”. But it should be heard.
2. The hearing will decide whether it meets criteria of being valid proceed.
3. If it does, the  protest will be heard according to the formal process. Each side will state their case. Witnesses for either side may be called by the “litigants” if they choose to do so.
4. The jury will convene “in camera” and decide the outcome.

Now to my opinion as a  club certified judge.

We can assume that that child is there because he/she is contending that the fact that they broke a rule and that rule is pretty unambiguous. The life belt was either removed or it was not. The determination of the outcome will depend, as it often does, on the credibility of the parties and their witnesses outcome. 

The burden rests on the protestor to make their case. Because they will benefit (indirectly) from the outcome I would focus on the credibility of their witnesses.

If the protester has no witnesses and the child is credible, with or without witnesses, I would dismiss the protest.

If the protester’s case was rock solid I would ask my fellow jury members consider whether there is Rule 69 sanction that comes into play.

Created: 25-Dec-09 13:05
Eric Meyn
Let’s just say that the adult is determined to be eligible to submit the protest and, by the letter of the rules, the sailor did violate the rule. I think in any set of rules there is always the unwritten intent behind those rules. We see this time and time again in cases that are put into the case books in order to set precedent for situations just like this where there are vagaries or people attempting to gain an advantage by using the rules as a weapon. In this case, we don’t know why the sailor removed the pfd early. For a sailor still sailing it seems an unusual action so close to shore. Was it chafing? Was it defective and causing issues that might make coming ashore less safe than leaving it on? And why is the adult calling them on it. Did the sailor truly endanger themselves by doing so? That’s the intent of the rule, right? Can the adult definitively say they did this because they truly had the best interests of that sailor in mind? How many adult sailors doff their pfd when the last race concludes on a hot day for a comfortable sail back to the beach? Would I turn them in because I was concerned for them or because they broke a rule deserving of their disqualification of the performance they put in on the water. Intent matters. The intent of the rule, intent of the sailor, intent of the RC 
Created: 25-Dec-09 14:19
Rob Rowlands
As a veteran of youth events as a parent, PRO and CJ I offer this. 

Safety first, last, always. 

As a matter of protocol,  RC volunteers to let the PRO know of any incident which might be contrary to the rules and let the PRO decide whether a protest is warranted. 

Requiring PFDs is a no brainer and should be a rule and in my opinion be subject to a DP. 

Such arrangements provide for safety, avoiding conflict of interest and a dose of doing the right thing. 
Created: 25-Dec-09 16:33
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
> 3.  Has the parent volunteer acted incorrectly in any way?
I submit that its always wrong to present an individual action as having been made by a committee. A committee is about collective responsibility.That's not RRS, that's "the sense ordinarily understood in nautical or general use."
Created: 25-Dec-09 17:27
Doc Sullivan
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19792 - Jim Champ
I would have this as a discretely penalty in the SI and treat it as a report
Created: 25-Dec-09 17:36
Robert Thomas
The "facts" state that was a hot day and that the life jacket was removed a few hundred meters away..  How far away is this?  Is this sailor the only one who removed their PFD early.  How many races were sailed that day before returning to shore?  What is maximum penalty  possible?  What is the level of the regatta and the ages of the competitors?  All of these pieces of information are missing.

These decisions are not cut and dry.  There are huge grey areas.

If filing a protest is the only means to bring this situation to the PRO and RC's attention, such is a reasonable course of action.

Let's assume it is a U10 opti sailor who has been on the water for 5+ hours having sailed 5 races.  What would be an appropriate handling of the situation?  In the cases that I could envision, we would chat with the youngster and his coach, remind them of the importance of PFD's and staying safe.  If this was the first day of a regatta, we would make sure to emphasize that PFD's must be worn at all times when on the water including on floats and walkways.

What are the possible penalties for a competitor?
Created: 25-Dec-09 19:27
P
Michael Butterfield
Why cannot any person who undertakes a rc function not protest.

The rules give no guidance, no heiararchy for the  ro or pro. There is a void in the rules here.

The race committe definition appears to be designed to help redress applications with its wide view.

This is just the other side of the coin.


Created: 25-Dec-09 20:19
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Ordinarily, an individual cannot act as an agent to perform an act on behalf of a corporate entity such as a committee unless the committee authorises them to do so, or later, endorses or adopts that action.

RRS Introduction, Terminology, Race Committee and Technical Committee overturns that principle by saying

The ... committee appointed ...  and any other person or committee performing a race/technical committee function.

The purpose of this is to make any action that is a function of a committee, which may be an improper action, into an improper action of the committee so as to give grounds for redress.

I think the wording is unfortunate.  It would be better to address the action, rather than the person and say

An action of an individual performing a ... committee function is an action of the committee.

That wouldn't help the present case.

I can't dispute that the individual's action of delivering a protest purporting to be by the race committee is an action of the race committee.

Let me come at the issue from a different direction.

If I saw a protest that wasn't authorised by someone I knew was authoritative on the race committee, I'd ask the race committee if it was a race committee protest, (and who their representative was going to be).

If the race committee as a whole wasn't happy with the protest, then I might suggest that the race committee could withdraw the protest.

That doesn't make any difference to the fact that the protest is based on a report from a person with a Conflict of Interest, and is invalid
Created: 25-Dec-09 21:12
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19801 - John Allan
John A .. "If I saw a protest that wasn't authorised by someone I knew was authoritative on the race committee, I'd ask the race committee if it was a race committee protest, (and who their representative was going to be). If the race committee as a whole wasn't happy with the protest, then I might suggest that the race committee could withdraw the protest."

I think we are in basic agreement (ref: my #4 in my original comment.)

Created: 25-Dec-09 21:21
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Thanks, Ang, you got to the solution first.
Created: 25-Dec-09 21:25
Dan Falcon
Nationality: United States
The above makes intuitive sense — absent some indication that this individual was authorized by the PRO to speak for the committee, the protest seems invalid.

I have volunteered to make lunch, to stock and launch all of the safety boats, lots of things like that. It never occurred to me that by operation of my holding a clipboard, I was now a race committee member empowered to speak for the race committee, to lodge a protest on behalf of the committee, etc.
Created: 25-Dec-09 23:49
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
50
Tips
Reply to: 19805 - Dan Falcon
Dan, you are certainly not empowered to speak for the race committee, and if you do so that is quite discourteous to the race committee chair and the other race committee members.

But the RRS provides that if you do do some action that is a function of the race committee your action is taken to be an action of the race committee [that it may then be up to the race committee to unwind if they don't like it].
Created: 25-Dec-10 00:40
P
Benjamin Harding
Nationality: Hong Kong
50
Tips
Alright… Thanks for all the input! Some really valuable comments on all sides.

Remarkably, Ang’s first post in this thread aligns with my thoughts in most aspects.

I will delve slightly deeper into a couple of areas.

---

60.4(b)(3)

2001–2004 – but not as a result of a report by a competitor from another boat or other interested party or of information in an invalid protest;

2005–2008 – protest a boat, but not as a result of a report from an interested party or information in an invalid protest or in a request for redress;

2025–2028 – a report from a person with a conflict of interest (other than a representative of the boat herself).

We can see that the rule we have today stems from the 2001–2004 version, which sought to restrict other boats and people not in the race committee from making reports to the race committee.

I too have always thought (and still think) the restriction is against people outside the race committee reporting to the race committee. In other words, a report to the race committee cannot originate from within the race committee.

In which case, to me, RRS 60.4(b)(3) does not invalidate this protest.

(I do accept, though, that the wording is a little ambiguous and I may be wrong!)

---

Did the parent volunteer act incorrectly?

A number of people have jumped on the parent here, hinting at poor sportsmanship/fair play/possible misconduct/malice.

I don’t think necessarily so.

The parent saw a rule breach (in this case, a safety issue) and enforced the rules as they thought was their duty and as they knew how. This isn’t unfair.

Of course, my scenario is deliberately posed to raise the issue of the “conflict of interest” question.

I don’t think it is a problem that the parent has a conflict of interest and that they may even have protested the competitor with a secret underlying goal to advance their own child. If a possible rule breach is tabled before the protest committee, it is fair game.  Would they have protested their own kid in the same situation? - - we will never know - - but it's irrelevant.

---

The Race Committee – and any person performing the functions of…

Here’s an interesting one. In another recent thread, we are discussing “language, language, language!”. Perhaps this case illustrates some important points.

Some people here have applied their own understanding of the word “committee,” asserting that in general use, the word *committee* implies a group.  True.  Other volunteer people have said they don’t feel they are “the race committee” as parent volunteers—again, applying their understanding that the race committee is limited to those members of the management with special roles.  They are just small-fry.

Yet, in that other language thread I said this: “If a phrase is defined in RRS then we must use it as defined.”

In racing sailing, a committee may be a single person (PC, TC or RC may all be one person). The RRS Introduction essentially defines the term for use in RRS. So we need to put the “general use” meaning (a group) out of our minds and look at the term “Race Committee” as the Introduction says.  It's the name given to the job:

 “The race committee appointed under rule 89.2(c) and any other person or committee performing a race committee function.”

The parent volunteer is inarguably a member of the race committee.

Why is this important? There needs to be a pathway back to the race committee for an improper action claim against any person performing a race committee function. If a parent volunteer at the launch ramp misidentifies a boat failing to sign in, that would be an improper action and subject to redress. But “improper action of a volunteer parent”, quite rightly, isn't grounds for redress, is it?!

In short, any function which may result in a penalty (linked to a rule), could be said to be a 'race committee function'.  Perhaps giving out lunchboxes and free t-shirts...no.  Sign-in/sign-out, absolutely.

---

In summary, then, I think that this scenario, while not ideal for all the reasons mentioned, is technically viable. The protest could well stand as valid and actionable.

Jim Champ has already said this is an internal RC management issue, rather than RRS.  I tend to agree.

In the RC team briefing at the beginning of the event, the PRO should be clear that all penalty actions / protests should go through the PRO or that only certain protests may bypass. This would make it clear what can come from a conflicted volunteer and what cannot.

Good chat.
Created: 25-Dec-10 01:48
Mark Townsend
Nationality: United States
Does the restriction of RRS 60.4(b)(3) apply?

I think the parent of the protested boat would say yes. The parent volunteer who protested is a member of the race committee, who is a support person with a conflict of interest who reported in a hearing request an incident they had observed. The incident was not part of their official race committee duties and they have a close personal interest in the decision.
 
How would I decide if presented with that argument... If you follow the rules, I think you have to say the hearing request is invalid. The report was from a person with a conflict of interest, who was not a representative of the boat herself. If the exclusion of a report from a person with a conflict of interest included race committee members wouldn't the rule say (other than a representative of the boat herself, and a member of the committee.)

60.4 Protest Validity
(b) A protest is invalid also if it is from a committee and is based on information from
(3) a report from a person with a conflict of interest (other than a representative of the boat herself).

Race Committee The race committee appointed under rule 89.2(c) and any other person or committee performing a race committee function.

Report  An account of a situation, event, etc. brought by one person to another, esp, as the result of an investigation, a piece of information or intelligence provided by an emissary, official investigator, etc.; a notification of something observed.

Support Person  Any person who
(b) is the parent or guardian of a competitor.

Conflict of Interest  A conflict of interest exists if a person
(c) has a close personal interest in a decision.

Created: 25-Dec-10 02:49
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Reply to: 19810 - Mark Townsend
Does the restriction of RRS 60.4(b)(3) apply? I think the parent of the protested boat would say yes. The parent volunteer who protested is a member of the race committee, who is a support person with a conflict of interest who reported in a hearing...
I agree with Mark.

The moral hazard of a person with a conflict of interest, particularly a parent or Support Person of a competitor is no different whether that person is appointed to the originjal race committee, is performing duties assigned by the race committee, is deemed to be of the race committee by RRS Introduction, Terminology Race Committee, or is unconnected with the race committee.

Such a person may selectively report a breach of the rules by one competitor and not by another.

Without addressing the integrity or otherwise of the person,at the very least this may, strongly, to use the words of RRS Definitions Conflict of Interest, reasonably appear to have a personal or financial interest which could affect that person’s ability to be impartial
Created: 25-Dec-10 05:08
P
Kim Kymlicka
How long would the hearing be?

Not long at all.

OP: The parent volunteer (having recently read the RRS Introduction and RRS 60.1) eagerly enters the online hearing request form and, within the time limit, submits a protest against that competitor, marking the request as a 'Race Committee Protest'.  The online system automatically posts the protest on the Official Notice Board

Rule and Definitions that apply:

Protest

 An allegation made under rule 60 by a boat or a committee that a boat has broken a rule

Committee

The protest committee, the race committee or the technical committee.

RRS: 60.1

 A boat or committee may protest a boat.

60.2  Intention to Protest

(d)   A committee may inform a boat of its intention to protest by posting a notice on the official notice board.

60.4 Protest Validity
(a)
 A protest is invalid
(1)  if it does not comply with the definition Protest or rule 60.2 or 60.3,
(b)  A protest is invalid also if it is from a committee and is based on information from
      (2) an invalid protest, or
      (3) a report from a person with a conflict of interest (other than a representative of the boat herself).

The rest would be repeating Mark’s answer, which in part this already is.

One person that may be on the RC team does not constitute a race committee. Since it was a person that posted the request, it does not satisfy the requirements of the Definition or the Rule.
 
Kim
 
 
 

Created: 25-Dec-10 03:32
P
Benjamin Harding
Nationality: Hong Kong

Report  An account of a situation, event, etc. brought by one person to another...


The volunteer is indeed a person with a conflict of interest, support person, close personal interest etc.  That is not disputed. (Actually an intended aspect of the scenario.)

The crux here is whether a 'report' can be made to oneself.  Does the use of that word imply only a restriction on outside information which is passed to the RC?

Can I report to myself?  Can the RC report to the RC?  The meaning supplied above suggests no.  A report is a directional flow of information.  From and to.

What would we think if we took the CoI out of the equation for a moment?  A protest is invalid also if it is from a committee and is based on information from a report from a person.

This would only make sense to apply to a report from outside the RC. 

In which case it could be argued that, 60.4(b)(3), by use of that word, applies to the passing of information from outside the committee to the committee.  The parent volunteer as part of the committee is not restricted by virtue of the definition of the word 'report'.  (In which case, the suggested additional words 'and a member of the committee' are not required.)

(I don't think it's relevant that the volunteer was not assigned directly to check PFD use.  Safety is probably everyone's job.)

-----------------
I think we have hit upon another instance where either can be right.  The rule isn't 100% solid one way or another.  At least, I would happily accept either interpretation.

Hence my post!

From a practical stance, we are bound to have Conflict of Interest in the RC at some events.  It is unavoidable and un-policeable.  If we apply 60.4(b)(3) to a 'report' originating from within the RC itself, do we invalidate many important RC protests at those events which use parent volunteers?
Created: 25-Dec-10 03:56
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Reply to: 19812 - Benjamin Harding
he crux here is whether a 'report' can be made to oneself.
If, by virtue of RRS Introduction, Terminology, Race Committee, an individual is the race committee, then, certainly the individual can make a report to the race committee (themselves) and then deliver a protest.
Created: 25-Dec-10 04:03
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
I agree with Ben's deduction. If you reduce the RC down to one person, and that person is a parent of a child, then all information and records are nullified as being a "report" from a support-person with a COI.  

That doesn't seem to be the point of the rule and I submit that it's an unworkable outcome. 

Also, I don't see this parent acting in their capacity as a "support person" to their child as they stand on the shore tagging kids in/out of the water as a member of the RC and watching for PFDs for all their safety.  

Many of us wear many hats. 

  •  For many years, I was simultaneously the RC Chair and a competitor (with a COI) in the races for which I was chair. 
  •  For the previous 10 yrs, in each and every race in which I competed (except for North American Champs), I've been a competitor with a COI and simultaneously a one-person Technical Committee (as Fleet Measurer I was the TC by the Bylaws of our local fleet and the J105 Class ByLaws). 

I saw the information I generated in those capacities as the information and record of the RC/TC, and not a report to myself from a person/competitor with a COI.  

  • Put that same parent on the signal boat calling the line.  If they call a boat (not their child) OCS, are we calling that a report from a support-person with a COI? or,
  • Put them on the signal boat and they see/log a boat touched the stern offset-buoy and the RC protests that boat, are we calling that a report from a support-person with a COI?, or 
  • Put them on the mark-boat and they log a boat missing the offset mark and they are scored NSC ... are we calling that a report from a support-person with a COI?

I'd suggest... no we are not. Those are classified as the RC's "own observations and records" (see RRS 90.3(c)).

Also note that RRS 60.4(b)(3) applies to "committee" not just "race committee". It has to work for tech comms as well.

For instance, if as the TC/Measurer I received a report from a competitor that a boat is breaking a class rule, I would not use the information in that report as the basis of a TC protest. I would investigate the issue myself and generate the TC's "own observation and record" and decide how to proceed.

Here again, I want to underline, the bylaws of both the J105 class and our local fleet require that the Fleet Measurer be a member of the J105 class and member of the fleet.  The fleet bylaws make the Measurer the TechComm. This is true for many of the OD classes out there.  Those TC's/Measurers are all persons with competitor COI.

Therefore, we must be able to distinguish between a committee's self-generated observations/information/record, by people acting as a member of that committee, and reports received from outside-persons. 

I think the analogy here is if another parent was out in a rib (not a volunteer) and gave a report to the this same RC-parent ... then that would be definitely invalid. .. as based on a report from a person with a COI. 
Created: 25-Dec-10 12:24
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Reply to: 19815 - Angelo Guarino
If you reduce the RC down to one person, and that person is a parent of a child, then all information and records are nullified as being a "report" from a support-person with a COI.  
I think this is a reuctio ad absurdum, but it's the direct result of Definition Conflict of Interest and RRS 60.4(b)(3).

The more practical scenario is where the race committee recruits numerous volunteers who happen to be parents and the race committee wants to be able to rely on their reports to sustain protests.

While I have misgivings about whether it's a good idea or not, and may involve the race committee in embarrassing judgements about the integrity of different parents, the OA/race committee can change, by the NOR/SI RRS 60.4(b)(3) to read something like

(3) report from a person with a conflict of interest (other than a representative of the boat herself or any person appointed by the race committee).

The OA/race committee can change any rule in Part 5 except RRS 63.3 which only relates to Conflict of Interest of judges.
Created: 25-Dec-12 22:41
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
John A re: "(3) report from a person with a conflict of interest (other than a representative of the boat herself or any person appointed by the race committee). "

Maybe make that "committee" instead of "race committee" so that TechComm
members are protected as well. 

Created: 25-Dec-12 22:49
P
Benjamin Harding
Nationality: Hong Kong
50
Tips
RYA Case is interesting.

RYA 2025/1
Created: 25-Dec-11 14:29
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Ben, did you mean 2024/1?

Otherwise I can't find 2025/1 on the RYA impenetrable website.
Created: 25-Dec-11 21:11
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
John A ... 2025/1 is correct. 

Here is link to RYA Casebook. Scroll to the end ... it's the last case in the book. 
Created: 25-Dec-11 21:27
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Reply to: 19829 - Benjamin Harding
John A ... 2025/1 is correct.  Here is link to RYA Casebook. Scroll to the end ... it's the last case in the book. 
Here is Answer 4

Clearly, it is not sufficient for a person simply to take an action that is a race committee function for that person to beconsidered a member of the race committee; there must be an element of authorisation to take that action.

In my opinion this is dead set wrong.  It is far from 'clear' in any way.

RRS Definitions Introduction Terminology Race Committee definines Race Committee as

The race committee appointed under rule 89.2(c) and any other person or committee performing a race committee function.

It clearly distinguishes between those appointed (or 'authorised') and those who are not appointed or authorised but nevertheless perform a race committee function.

The obvious effect of this is that any action that is a race committee function performed by any person becomes an action of the race committee, and if improper becomes grounds for redress.

The RYA interpretation robs the rules of this important provision.

As far as an unauthorised protest goes, I think Angelo and I agreed on the better solution, which is that the race committee, if they are concerned that it was unauthorized, can withdraw the protest.
Created: 25-Dec-11 21:43
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
John A "Clearly, it is not sufficient for a person simply to take an action that is a race committee function for that person to beconsidered a member of the race committee"

I had the same reaction when I read what you did ... but I think it's just that they muddled the point by not repeating what the "action" actually was.

(I think) In this case, the "action" the secretary took was filing the redress itself.  I think what they were trying to say is that, by that action alone (filling the redress), does not make the secretary a part of the RC. 

I think they "burried the lead" in how they wrote it. 
Created: 25-Dec-11 21:57
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
I think the spirit of the RYA reply, that the volunteer is only acting as part of the RC when doing something they have been authorised/delegated to, is fundamentally sound. However it leaves a glaring hole. Supposing a competitor is significantly disadvantaged by someone doing an RC function they have not been authorised to do?
Created: 25-Dec-12 23:35
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Jim re: "Supposing a competitor is significantly disadvantaged by someone doing an RC function they have not been authorised to do?"

Trying to think of a scenario there. ... hmmm

Maybe a parent is in their own powerboat watching the race.  They see an a$!h&$? in a go-fast boat blazing toward the race area.  The parent takes it upon themselves to speed out to fend-off the go-fast-boat and in doing so disadvantages a competitor. 

Maybe a difference there if in the same instance, the signal boat radios the parent and asks them to do it?

Is that what you are thinking?
Created: 25-Dec-15 13:44
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
I'm not sure I got as far as thinking of specific examples... but the possibility must exist. How about deciding off their own bat to move a mark for a windshift when some competitors are on that leg? Or notifying someone they are black flagged when a) in fact they weren't and b) they weren't authorised to make that communication. 
Created: 25-Dec-15 15:44
P
Michael Butterfield
I also believe any such protest is valid, but a fuller committee may decide to withdraw. 
Created: 25-Dec-11 22:00
P
Benjamin Harding
Nationality: Hong Kong
Sorry.

I was in a rush last night so missed attaching the link. 

(Stumbled on that appeal case looking for something completely different!  Will take some time to digest it.)

I think I'm with Mike, though now I wonder what the repercussions of withdrawing it would be. Might cause even more issues! 

Of course the issue of conflict of interest is not addressed in the RYA Appeal. That's another matter.
 
Haha. It's never-ending. 

Interesting find though... 


Created: 25-Dec-12 00:14
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Reply to: 19836 - Benjamin Harding
I wonder what the repercussions of withdrawing it would be.
Did you have in mind a safety issue going without an official reaction?

In that case I think any 'repercussion' is only as a big a deal as the race committee wants to make of  it
Created: 25-Dec-12 22:45
P
Michael Butterfield
I think moving a mark is a difficult one. They have no authority, but it is a race committee function. I think redress may be avaliable. Isaparent a rrs 69 may be appropriate.

For the black flag, the competior is they stop racing has affected there own position so no redress.
Created: 25-Dec-15 20:32
P
Michael Butterfield
This shows the rules inadequate definition to widen theredress net. When do race officials get supported?
Created: 25-Dec-15 20:33
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
Just to offer up another rabbit hole. AIUI at the moment if a third party, say a motor boat, were to damage a competitor in a collision caused by the 3rd party ignoring IRCPAS the competitor would not be entitled to redress. Do we consider this appropriate? If yes, would you still think so if the 3rd party were convicted of the breach of IRPCAS by the authorities? 
Created: 25-Dec-15 21:45
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Reply to: 19874 - Jim Champ
RRS 61.4(b)(3) 
Created: 25-Dec-15 23:27
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19874 - Jim Champ
John ... I think you meant to point to RRS 61.4(b)(3) ... not (4)
Created: 25-Dec-16 12:06
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
Reply to: 19874 - Jim Champ
How did I miss that? I read the damn rule before I posted. Obviously not carefully enough!
Created: 25-Dec-16 12:18
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
I must have been referring to the right subparagraph:  Jim understood.

Fixed.
Created: 25-Dec-16 13:39
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more