Forum: Rule 18 and Room at the Mark

Mark-Room and Room to Pass an Obstruction who wins.

Mark Townsend
Nationality: United States
As two boats, Sleigh Ride and Polar Express, approached a permanent mark on starboard tack to be rounded to port, Polar Express reached the zone while Sleigh Ride was overlapped to leeward and called for room at the mark. A floating Christmas Tree, which annually decorates the bay, was moored about two hull lengths to windward of the permanent mark. These Christmas Trees feature a square base with a 12-foot tall square pyramid on top, wrapped in Christmas lights.

As Sleigh Ride approached the mark, Polar Express hailed for room to pass to leeward of the tree, the same side that Sleigh Ride was passing. Sleigh Ride did not bear away until she was at the mark and rounded close to the mark. At which point Polar Express did not feel there was sufficient room to pass between Sleigh Ride and the tree. Polar Express luffed sharply and passed the tree on the opposite side to Sleigh Ride. Polar Express hailed protest.




Polar Express protests Sleigh Ride for not giving room between her and the obstruction as required by rule 19.2(b). 

How should the protest committee rule.
Created: Today 00:28

Comments

Format:
John Christman
Nationality: United States
Interesting question.

Here's how I break it down.

  • Polar Express, windward & overlapped, is required to keep clear of Sleigh Ride, leeward & overlapped, RRS 11, and does so.  No rules broken.
  • RRS 18 applies while the boats are in the zone.  Polar Express, outside & overlapped, is required to give mark-room to Sleigh Ride, inside & overlapped, RRS 18.2(a)(1) and does so.  No rules broken.
  • RRS 19 applies at the obstruction, neither 19.1 (a) or (b) are true.  Sleigh Ride as the right-of-way boat gets to choose which side of the obstruction she is going to pass the obstruction on, RRS 19.2(a).  Sleigh Ride, overlapped & outside, is required to give room between her and the obstruction to Polar Express, inside & overlapped, RRS 19.2(b).  Sleigh Ride does not give Polar Express room between her and the obstruction and breaks RRS 19.2(b).
  • Looking at 43 - Exoneration
    • 43.1(a) Sleigh Ride was not compelled to break rule 19.2(b) because of another boat breaking a rule, so no exoneration here.
    • 43.1(b) Sleigh Ride is sailing within the room or mark-room to which she is entitled and breaks a rule.  However, the list of rules for which she is exonerated for is Section A of Part 2 (RRS 10-13), 15, 16, & 31.  She has broken 19.2(b) which is not in the list, so no exoneration here.
    • 43.1(c) No contact occurred, so no exoneration here.

 I am left with Sleigh Ride breaking 19.2(b) and no exoneration and Polar Express not breaking any rules.

The next question is suppose Polar Express forces her way between the obstruction and Sleighs Ride and Sleigh Ride hits the mark as a result.  There is no contact between the boats or with the obstruction.

Now you have:

  • Polar Express breaking RRS 11 & 18.2(a)(1).
  • Sleigh Ride breaking RRS 31.
  • Polar Express is exonerated for breaking RRS 11 by 43.1(b) as she is sailing within the room she is entitled to.
  • Polar Express is not exonerated for breaking RRS 18.2(a)(1) as it is not in the list of rules she gets exonerated for in 43.1(b).
  • Sleigh Ride is exonerated for breaking RRS 31 as it is in the list of rules she gets exonerated for.
Created: Today 01:04
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more