Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
Race Officer - Uniform is upside down. (Sorry, it's a vexillology thing.)
Judge - The RC signal boat is a mark by definition. The presence of the Uniform flag indicates that the rules are in effect (after the preparatory signal). In order to make fast to the mark, Blue must touch it, breaking RRS 31. Assuming that she bailed out or repairs were made while she was made fast, RRS 45 was not broken. Blue may exonerate herself by taking a one-turn penalty.
I agree with Matt except that, unless protested, if Blue sails the course and finishes without taking a penalty turn she must still be scored in her finishing place.
Blue should take a one-turn penalty voluntarily, and if she doesn't immediately do so the RC should hail protest.
Blue could also make fast to the committee boat's anchor line instead of the boat itself and break no rule.
And [nitpick] a penalty turn is a penalty, not an exhoneration [/nitpick]
Matt, Not to be too picky about the definitions, but unless the race committee vessel is listed as an object from which the star/finish line extends, it is not. A staring or finishing line may not always extend/originate/terminate from the race committee vessel. Kim
I would think that as long it was only Blue's crew that bailed or made repairs then no outside help was received. Now if pumps were provided ...... than different story. Although pumping to prevent sinking helps a crew member from danger of drowning or hypothermia or repercussions for forgetting to install the drain plug.
Judge - The RC signal boat is a mark by definition. The presence of the Uniform flag indicates that the rules are in effect (after the preparatory signal). In order to make fast to the mark, Blue must touch it, breaking RRS 31. Assuming that she bailed out or repairs were made while she was made fast, RRS 45 was not broken. Blue may exonerate herself by taking a one-turn penalty.
Blue should take a one-turn penalty voluntarily, and if she doesn't immediately do so the RC should hail protest.
Blue could also make fast to the committee boat's anchor line instead of the boat itself and break no rule.
And [nitpick] a penalty turn is a penalty, not an exhoneration [/nitpick]
Not to be too picky about the definitions, but unless the race committee vessel is listed as an object from which the star/finish line extends, it is not. A staring or finishing line may not always extend/originate/terminate from the race committee vessel.
Kim
I think she is OK.
Kim
This is much better now !!
Thanks Matt !!