Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
In this scenario, diagrammed for the 2021-2024 rules, a boat finishes the race, then subsequently contacts a boat that bounds the finishing line. I have diagrammed 5 scenarios. In which of these diagrams has the boat ceased racing because she has cleared the finishing line? Put another way, which diagrams represent an instance where the boat should perform a one-turn penalty and finish again?
Don't forget definition Racing. There is no change in 2021-2024 edition. Boat is racing "...until she finishes and clears the finishing line and marks..." Marks are important too.
In Scenarios 1 and 3, the mark figures in the boat's maneuvering to clear the line. Therefore she must pay a penalty and re-finish. In 2, 4, and 5, the boat could go wherever it wanted to without the mark interceding in its decisions. She has/had finished.
You may find guidance to help understand when a boat is no longer <%= def_link(‘Racing’) %> by looking at US Sailing Appeal 26 and World Sailing Case <%= case_link(‘127’) %> .
I think one way I'd apply the Case 127 test would be to ask if there is a point at which the boat is outside the ends of the line and all finishing marks have been simultaneously left clear astern. From that point I'd say the boat is no longer racing.
Diagrams 4 and 5 appear to meet that test (at least briefly, at about position 5.5), 1, 2 and 3 do not.
Yes, I agree. I could see an example (like a downwind finish) where a boat was able to finish and continue sailing for some distance away from the line without going outside the boundaries. At some point you need to say she's not racing.
Or, similarly, like scenario 2 where the boat clearly finishes, has the ability to continue undeterred by the line and marks, then proceeds to sail off in an unseamanlike, bumbling manner unrelated to the race.
Sympathy or no, Case 127 is definitive and clear. The presence of the finish mark did not influence the skipper's decision to bear off. You are writing your own rule, contrary to governing Case.
How do I know that the finishing mark wasn't influencing the boat's choice of course? If she had bourne away more, or bourne away less, in an attempt to avoid hitting the finish mark, wouldn't she still be racing by the definition of the case? In positions 4 - 7 I could find that the boat was continually steering to avoid the mark (which is to say it influenced her choice of course) but ultimately failed to avoid it. If the boat sailed several more lengths to windward, well clear of the finish line, and then turned down and stupidly hit the mark I might agree that she had stopped racing.
So in most instances I'd still maintain that unless a mark is astern or at least abaft the beam, it could potentially influence choice of course and the boat may still be racing.
clears the finishing line and marks..." Marks are important too.
In 2, 4, and 5, the boat could go wherever it wanted to without the mark interceding in its decisions. She has/had finished.
None
Diagrams 4 and 5 appear to meet that test (at least briefly, at about position 5.5), 1, 2 and 3 do not.
You are writing your own rule, contrary to governing Case.
So in most instances I'd still maintain that unless a mark is astern or at least abaft the beam, it could potentially influence choice of course and the boat may still be racing.