Under rule 60.4(a)(2) A protest is invalid if ... she was not involved in it or did not see the incident.
A competitor watching a replay of the start sees two boats make contact. Neither boat takes a penalty although it is clear from the video that there was contact. The competitor notifies both parties and files a hearing request within the time limit alleging that both boats broke rule 14 and neither took a penalty.
1) Does seeing a video of an incident meet the requirement to "see the incident"?
2) Is the protest valid?
3) If valid what penalties, if any, should be imposed by the protest committee?
It is an absurd change but seems to be a reallity.
Rule 60.4(a)(2) is changed as follows: “if it alleges a breach of a rule of Part 2 or rule 31 and is
from a boat that was not involved in and did not see, the incident, or”.
If a protest concerns an incident observed by the protestor in the racing area:
I understand this to mean that the observing must take place in the racing area.
It doesnt address the nature of the observation.
How about if a boat, whil racing in the racing area observes an incident in the racing area:
Recently i had two protests,, days after an event finished, when the boat, watched the event vidios, saw what it considered breaches of the class rules.
How do you apply protest time limits to this?